Joakim Chardonnens
Switzerland, Finland, 23 min
World premiere

A day with five-year-old Ida, who lives on the island Kyrkogådsö with just seven other inhabitants. The island’s three children travel to school by snowmobile, boat and car. Quiet scenes of landscapes and close-ups of Ida combine successfully to produce a sensitive portrait of a child in her own world.

The winter sun shines palely down upon a small village as five-year old Ida sets out for school. However, her daily life is not quite as unremarkable as it seems at first: Ida is one of just eight inhabitants of the island of Kyrkogådsö, located in the middle of the Baltic Sea between Sweden and Finland. The island’s three children travel by snowmobile, a small boat and finally by car to reach their school on a neighbouring island.

Joakim Chardonnens follows little Ida through her day in quiet images whose deliberately slow pace seems to be an effect of the all-encompassing cold. The northern landscape embeds the red-jacketed girl in a world that seems much too large and vast for her – in contrast to the camera’s close and careful observation of the inquisitive girl within her own world.

Almost without words and amid a panoply of background noises ranging from motors to a scratchy violin, Kyrkogårdsö succeeds in offering a sensitive image of the way children pave their own way through their surroundings.

Jenny Billeter

Translation BMP Translations

Duration
23 min
Year
2012
Country
Switzerland, Finland
Section
Compétition Internationale Courts Métrages
Premiere
World premiere
Language
no dialogue
Production
Isabelle Gattiker

Compétition Internationale Courts Métrages

→ All the Films

Joakim Chardonnens
Suisse, Finlande, 23 min
Première mondiale

Une journée avec Ida, cinq ans, qui vit avec sept autres habitants sur l’île de Kyrkogådsö. Pour se rendre à l’école, les trois enfants de l’île empruntent une motoneige, un bateau et une voiture. En combinant des images de paysages paisibles et des plans rapprochés de la fillette, le cinéaste réalise avec une grande sensibilité le portrait d’une enfant qui vit dans son propre monde.

Le morne soleil hivernal caresse un petit hameau. Ida, cinq ans, part à l’école. Son quotidien n’est pas aussi banal qu’il y paraît de prime abord: la fillette vit avec sept autres habitants sur l’île de Kyrkogådsö, au beau milieu de la mer Baltique, entre la Suède et la Finlande. Chaque jour, les trois enfants de l’île se rendent à l’école de l’île voisine en utilisant une motoneige, puis un petit bateau et enfin une voiture.

Avec des images paisibles, dont la lenteur semble refléter le climat glacial, Joakim Chardonnens accompagne la petite Ida tout au long d’une journée. La fillette au manteau rouge évolue dans un paysage nordique, un monde qui semble trop grand et trop vaste pour elle. A l’opposé, la caméra observe attentivement, en plan rapproché, la fillette curieuse évoluant dans son propre monde.

Presque sans un mot, sur un fond sonore fait de bruits de moteurs et de mélodies de violon rêches, Kyrkogårdsö est un film plein de finesse sur des enfants qui suivent leur bonhomme de chemin, quel que soit leur environnement.

Jenny Billeter

Traduction BMP Translations

Durée
23 min
Année
2012
Pays
Suisse, Finlande
Section
Compétition Internationale Courts Métrages
Première
Première mondiale
Langue
sans dialogue
Production
Isabelle Gattiker

Compétition Internationale Courts Métrages

→ Tous les films