Elogio da Graça

Joel Pizzini
Brazil, 25 min

This film tells the story of Maria Graça and the Swedish director Arne Sucksdorff, how they met and their life together in the Mato Grosso. Letting this woman speak freely as she pays tribute to her partner and his struggle to conserve the Brazilian rainforest, and drawing on the filmmaker’s archives, Joel Pizzini paints a portrait both private and politically committed.

This film tells the story of Maria Graça and the Swedish director Arne Sucksdorff, how they met to make a “photo-book” and their subsequent life together in the Mato Grosso. “Elogio da Graça was born of a meeting with Maria Graça in 2011, twenty years after our first interview in Cuaiaba, when the couple were struggling to prevent the destruction of the rain forest. Since the death of her partner, she has concentrated on cataloguing audiovisual material shot over a period of thirty years” (JP).

Maria Graça, Sucksdorff’s former muse, pays tribute to him in a confession mixing nostalgia and an insistence on their role as precursors of the green movement.  Joel Pizzini – a filmmaker committed to defending the indigenous peoples of Amazonia – draws on the “Sucksdorff archives” and films Maria Graça in the unspoilt Brazilian environment. Like an uninterrupted conversation, an intimate relationship is established between past and present, ending with a touching sequence in which she reads a poem Sucksdorff wrote for her.

Carlo Chatrian

Translation BMP Translations

Trailer

Duration
25 min
Year
2011
Country
Brazil
Section
Compétition Internationale Courts Métrages
Language
Portuguese
Subtitle
English
Production
Fernanda Rocha Miranda

Compétition Internationale Courts Métrages

→ All the Films

Elogio da Graça

Joel Pizzini
Brésil, 25 min

Le film retrace l’histoire de Maria Graça et du cinéaste suédois Arne Sucksdorff, de leur rencontre jusqu’à leur vie de couple dans le Mato Grosso. Puisant dans les archives du cinéaste et laissant libre cours aux paroles de cette femme qui rend hommage à son compagnon et à sa lutte pour la préservation de la forêt brésilienne, Joel Pizzini réalise un portrait à la fois intime et politique.

Le film retrace l’histoire de Maria Graça et du cinéaste suédois Arne Sucksdorff, de leur rencontre pour la réalisation d’un « photo-book » jusqu’à leur vie de couple dans le Mato Grosso. « Elogio da Graça est né de ma rencontre avec Maria Graça en 2011, vingt ans après notre première entrevue à Cuaiaba, lorsque le couple luttait contre les ravages causés à la forêt amazonienne. Depuis la mort de son compagnon, elle a œuvré pour inventorier le matériel audiovisuel réalisé pendant trente ans de travail» (JP).

Après avoir été la muse du cinéaste, Maria Graça lui rend hommage dans une confession qui mêle nostalgie et revendication de leur rôle de précurseurs du mouvement écologiste. Joel Pizzini – cinéaste engagé dans le mouvement de défense des peuples indigènes de l’Amazonie – puise dans les archives « Sucksdorff » et filme Maria Graça dans le vert de la nature brésilienne. Entre présent et passé s’établit ainsi une relation intime, tel un discours ininterrompu, qui aboutit à une séquence touchante où la femme lit une poésie que son compagnon lui avait dédiée.

Carlo Chatrian

Bande-annonce

Durée
25 min
Année
2011
Pays
Brésil
Section
Compétition Internationale Courts Métrages
Langue
portugais
Sous-titre
anglais
Production
Fernanda Rocha Miranda

Compétition Internationale Courts Métrages

→ Tous les films