Kaspar Schiltknecht
Switzerland, 9 min
World premiere

Kaspar and Claudio have been friends since childhood. Kaspar is now training to be a filmmaker, while Claudio is working on the gigantic St. Gotthard Tunnel project. The making of this training film is an opportunity to renew their friendship but, in the work environment, everything is different, difficult. They have to return to Plaids, to the woods of Graubünden, to really renew their relationship.

Kaspar and Claudio have been friends since childhood. They grew up together in the mountains of Graubünden. Kaspar is now training to be a filmmaker, while Claudio is working on the gigantic St. Gotthard Tunnel project. The film, commissioned by Kaspar’s school, is an opportunity to renew their friendship.  But, in the work environment, everything is different, difficult. They have to return to Plaids, to the woods of their youth, to really renew their relationship. 

The Romansch language, the Alps, the contrast between city and mountains… It is all very Swiss, and yet the film raises a universal question. How, in growing up, can you maintain a link with childhood? In other words: how do you cope with a changing world? While tackling such a subject is an act of courage, finding a solution without yielding to facile nostalgia or recourse to library material is proof of a real talent for filmmaking.

Carlo Chatrian

Translation BMP Translations

Duration
9 min
Year
2012
Country
Switzerland
Section
Premiers Pas
Premiere
World premiere
Language
Swiss German
Subtitle
English, French
Production
Lionel Baier
Sales Contact
Jean-Guillaume Sonnierjean_guillaume.sonnier@ecal.ch+41213169233
+41787677919

Premiers Pas

→ All the Films

Kaspar Schiltknecht
Suisse, 9 min
Première mondiale

Kaspar et Claudio se connaissent depuis l’enfance. Aujourd’hui, le premier est en train de devenir cinéaste, tandis que le second travaille pour le grand projet de construction du tunnel du Gothard. Ce film d’école est l’occasion de renouer leur amitié ; mais dans le cadre du travail, tout est différent, difficile. Il faut revenir à Plaids, dans les Grisons, et se retrouver dans les bois pour que le dialogue reprenne.

Kaspar et Claudio se connaissent depuis l’enfance. Ils ont grandi ensemble à la montagne, dans les Grisons. Aujourd’hui, Kaspar est en passe de devenir cinéaste, tandis que Claudio travaille pour le grand projet de construction du tunnel du Gothard. Le film, commandité par l’école où Kaspar étudie, est l’occasion de renouer leur amitié. Mais dans le cadre du travail tout est différent. Tout est difficile. Il faut revenir à Plaids – la terre de leur jeunesse - et se retrouver dans les bois pour que le dialogue reprenne.

La langue romanche, le monde alpin, le contraste entre ville et montagne… Tout est très suisse, et pourtant une question universelle est à l’œuvre dans le film. Comment grandir en gardant un lien avec notre enfance ? Autrement dit : comment faire avec le temps qui nous change ? Si accepter le défi de filmer un tel sujet est un acte de courage, voire d’insouciance, trouver une solution pour ne pas céder à la nostalgie ou à la facilité d’un recours aux archives, relève d’un véritable talent d’écriture.

Carlo Chatrian

Durée
9 min
Année
2012
Pays
Suisse
Section
Premiers Pas
Première
Première mondiale
Langue
alémanique
Sous-titre
anglais, français
Production
Lionel Baier
Contact de vente
Jean-Guillaume Sonnierjean_guillaume.sonnier@ecal.ch+41213169233
+41787677919

Premiers Pas

→ Tous les films