Olga et ses hommes

Michaël Poirier Martin
Canada, 11 min

Surrounded by her big-footed giants, Olga Hrycak – a small woman of 63 – devotes herself body and soul to turning a group of athletes into a basketball team. With her unique mixture of French and English, inexhaustible energy, and a good dose of irony, she is raised before our very eyes to the ranks of those immortalized by the documentary genre.

She may be pint-sized, but she certainly makes herself heard. She is demanding and hardly ever satisfied with the result. Surrounded by her big-footed giants, Olga Hrycak – a young woman of 63! – devotes herself body and soul to turning a group of athletes into a basketball team. Filmed with a great deal of affection during matches and training sessions, Olga evinces a formidable theatrical presence. With her unique mixture of French and English, inexhaustible energy and a good dose of irony, she is raised before our very eyes to the ranks of those immortalized by the documentary genre.

A cinema student at the University of Quebec in Montreal, Michaël Poirier Martin relies on this basketball trainer to achieve a difficult feat: Olga et ses hommes is not a film about basketball, nor about a person – however unusual she may be – but about the eternal striving for team spirit, mastery and excellence. 

Carlo Chatrian

Translation BMP Translations

Duration
11 min
Year
2011
Country
Canada
Section
Premiers Pas
Languages
French, English
Subtitles
English
Production
Michaël Poirier Martin
Sales Contact
Michaël Poirier Martinmick_pm007@hotmail.com+14504414904

Premiers Pas

→ All the Films

Olga et ses hommes

Michaël Poirier Martin
Canada, 11 min

Entourée par ses géants aux grands pieds, Olga Hrycak – petite femme de 63 ans – se donne corps et âme pour faire en sorte qu’un groupe d’athlètes se transforme en équipe de basketball. Avec son mélange unique de français et d’anglais, son énergie intarissable et une bonne dose d’ironie, elle devient sous nos yeux une de ces personnes que le regard documentaire élève au rang de personnages inoubliables.

Elle est petite, mais elle sait se faire entendre comme personne. Elle est exigeante et quasiment jamais satisfaite du résultat. Entourée par ses géants aux grands pieds, Olga Hrycak – jeune femme de 63 ans ! - se donne corps et âme pour faire en sorte qu’un groupe d’athlètes se mue en équipe de basket. Filmée avec un regard plein d’affection, pendant les matches ou les entraînements, Olga fait preuve d’une formidable présence scénique. Avec son mélange unique de français et d’anglais, son énergie intarissable et une bonne dose d’ironie, elle devient sous nos yeux une de ces personnes que le regard documentaire élève au rang de personnages inoubliables.

Etudiant en cinéma à l'Université du Québec à Montréal, Michaël Poirier Martin s’appuie sur cette entraîneuse de basket pour tenter un pari risqué : Olga et ses hommes n’est pas un film sur le basketball, ni sur une personne – aussi singulière soit-elle - mais sur l’éternelle  recherche d’un esprit d’équipe, du dépassement de soi et de l’excellence.

Carlo Chatrian

Durée
11 min
Année
2011
Pays
Canada
Section
Premiers Pas
Langues
français, anglais
Sous-titres
anglais
Production
Michaël Poirier Martin
Contact de vente
Michaël Poirier Martinmick_pm007@hotmail.com+14504414904

Premiers Pas

→ Tous les films