VẮNG BÓNG

Martin Otter
Germany, 90 min
World premiere

As a child, the poet Thanh Nguyen lost his sight in an American raid. He grew up, married and had a family. When his wife fell ill, he decided to go begging around the country, accompanied by his nine-year-old daughter. Conceived as confession for two voices (father and daughter), torn by shots of absolute clarity, Vắng Bóng is a journey through darkness.

 

As a child, the poet Thanh Nguyen lost his sight in an American raid. He grew up, married and had a family. When his wife fell ill, he decided to go begging around the country, accompanied by his nine-year-old daughter. Back home two years later, Nguyen began writing about this experience and started to overcome his disability. Conceived as a confession for two voices (father and daughter), shot through with scenes of absolute clarity, Van Bong is a journey through night. Gradually, the story approaches a universal theme, offering a sort of philosophical handbook on how to survive the darkness.

Striking a balance between spoken word, imagination, memory and dream, Martin Otter seeks to go beyond what can be seen and heard and to enter a different dimension, exploring the inner world of his characters. Shot in highly symbolic black and white, Vang Bong follows a back-to-front route which leads, spiral-wise, down into the human soul.

Carlo Chatrian

Translation BMP Translations

Trailer

Duration
90 min
Year
2012
Country
Germany
Sections
International Feature Film Competition
Regard Neuf
Premiere
World premiere
Language
Vietnamese
Subtitle
English
Production
Martin OtterNicolas Humbert
Sales Contact
Nicolas Humbertnicolas.humbert@gmx.de+4989292354

International Feature Film Competition

→ All the Films

VẮNG BÓNG

Martin Otter
Allemagne, 90 min
Première mondiale

Enfant, le poète Thanh Nguyen a été victime d’un raid américain. Devenu aveugle, l’homme s’est marié et a fondé une famille. Quand sa femme est tombée malade, il a pris la décision de mendier à travers le pays, accompagné par sa fille alors âgée de neuf ans. Conçu comme une confession à deux voix (père et fille), déchiré par des plans de lumière absolue, Vắng Bóng est un voyage à travers la nuit.

Enfant, le poète Thanh Nguyen a été victime d’un raid américain. Devenu aveugle, l’homme s’est marié et a fondé une famille. Quand sa femme est tombée malade, il a pris la décision de mendier à travers le pays, accompagné par sa fille alors âgée de neuf ans. De retour chez lui deux ans plus tard, Nguyen a commencé à écrire sur cette expérience et à surmonter son handicap. Conçu comme une confession à deux voix (père et fille), déchiré par des plans de lumière absolue, Vang Bong est un voyage à travers la nuit. Petit à petit, le récit s’ouvre sur une trajectoire universelle : une sorte de précis philosophique sur la manière de survivre aux ténèbres.

En équilibre subtil entre parole, imagination, souvenir et rêve, Martin Otter cherche à dépasser le visible et l’audible pour atteindre une dimension autre, qui tient à l’intimité de ses personnages et qui se veut comme l’image d’un monde intérieur. Tourné dans un noir et blanc à forte valeur symbolique, Vang Bong suit un parcours à rebours qui, tel une spirale, conduit au plus près de l’âme d’un homme.

Carlo Chatrian

Bande-annonce

Durée
90 min
Année
2012
Pays
Allemagne
Sections
Compétition Internationale Longs Métrages
Regard Neuf
Première
Première mondiale
Langue
vietnamien
Sous-titre
anglais
Production
Martin OtterNicolas Humbert
Contact de vente
Nicolas Humbertnicolas.humbert@gmx.de+4989292354

Compétition Internationale Longs Métrages

→ Tous les films