Rachel Leah Jones
Israel, Spain, United States, 96 min

David Serva is a well-known Flamenco guitarist – and a Don Juan, as witness five children with five different women. Rachel Leah Jones sets out to follow the trail of her taciturn father, visiting him and his ex-wives. With its gently ironic tone and its impressive spontaneous Flamenco performances, this cinematographic letter tells the story of a complex family history spread between California, Spain and Israel.

The ironic tone is immediately noticeable: when her father breaks his wrist and his pelvis, Rachel Leah Jones comments off camera, “He’s broken the two things he knows how to use.” American musician David Serva needs his wrist for playing Flamenco guitar – a skill for which he has won recognition around the world. And the five children he has had with five different women testify to his use of his pelvis.

The second of those children is Rachel. Now an adult, she visits her father in Madrid, armed with a camera. Serva smokes, drinks, plays the guitar and avoids her questions, whereupon she sets out to visit his ex-wives to discover more about him and encounters five American women who corresponded in their youth to the dream image of a Flamenco-dancing gypsy. Even today, there are tears in the eyes of these strong women when they think about the love of their lives.

Skilfully narrated and studded with photos and home movies, this complicated family story is accompanied by impressive Flamenco performances with Serva in cafés and living rooms. Rachel Leah Jones’ father is addicted to the energy of Flamenco; it is the way he expresses his pain. The same is true of his daughter in this cinematographic letter.

Jenny Billeter

Translation BMP Translations

Trailer

Duration
96 min
Year
2011
Country
Israel, Spain, United States
Section
International Feature Film Competition
Languages
English, Spanish
Subtitles
English
Production
Rachel Leah JonesPhilippe Bellaiche

International Feature Film Competition

→ All the Films

Rachel Leah Jones
Israël, Espagne, États-Unis, 96 min

Célèbre guitariste flamenco, David Serva est aussi un Don Juan – en témoignent les cinq enfants qu’il a eus de cinq femmes différentes. Désireuse d’en savoir plus sur son père, peu bavard, Rachel Leah Jones va le rencontrer, de même que ses ex-épouses. Avec un ton légèrement ironique, émaillé de scènes de flamenco spontanées, ce film raconte une histoire familiale complexe, entre la Californie, l’Espagne et Israël.

D’emblée, le ton est ironique. Lorsque son père se casse le poignet et le bassin, Rachel Leah Jones commente en voix off: «Il s’est cassé les deux choses dont il sait se servir.» Son poignet, David Serva sait indubitablement s’en servir: cet Américain est un guitariste flamenco mondialement reconnu. Quant à l’utilisation de son bassin, les cinq enfants qu’il a eus de cinq femmes différentes en témoignent.

Sa fille cadette, Rachel, aujourd’hui adulte, lui rend visite à Madrid armée d’une caméra. Fumant et buvant, jouant de la guitare, il élude ses questions; Rachel part alors à la rencontre de ses anciennes épouses, pour en apprendre davantage sur lui. Elle fait la connaissance de cinq Américaines qui, dans leur jeunesse, ont incarné l’idéal de la danseuse gitane. Aujourd’hui encore, elles ont les larmes aux yeux en repensant à l’amour de leur vie.

Habilement racontée, truffée de photos et de films amateurs, cette complexe histoire de famille est ponctuée de scènes de flamenco, où l’on voit Serva se produire dans des cafés et chez des particuliers. Il a besoin de l’énergie du flamenco pour exprimer sa souffrance – sa fille le fait à sa manière, avec cette lettre filmée.

Jenny Billeter

Traduction BMP Translations

Bande-annonce

Durée
96 min
Année
2011
Pays
Israël, Espagne, États-Unis
Section
Compétition Internationale Longs Métrages
Langues
anglais, espagnol
Sous-titres
anglais
Production
Rachel Leah JonesPhilippe Bellaiche

Compétition Internationale Longs Métrages

→ Tous les films