Dur d'être dieu

Antoine Cattin & Pavel Kostomarov
Switzerland, Russia, 67 min
World premiere

Alexei Guerman is one of the most famous living Russian directors. Known and respected for the precision of his work, and for his strictness, his projects sometimes go on for several years. Cattin and Kostomarov followed him during the shooting of his most recent film. More than an account of this enterprise, Dur d’être dieu is the portrait of an artist and his country.

Alexei Guerman is one of the most famous living Russian directors. Known and respected for the precision of his work, and for his strictness, his projects sometimes go on for several years. Cattin and Kostomarov followed him during the shooting of his most recent film. They captured the richness and depth of Guerman’s work, and the harshness of his relations with his team, whom he controls with an iron hand. “In observing relations between Guerman and his entourage, our film highlights something which goes beyond this particular director’s work: something about the Russian cast of mind, that makes people see themselves as both master and slave. As the eyes are the mirror of the soul, so Guerman’s cinema is the mirror of Russia” (AC, PK).

A journey deep into Guerman’s world, or a film-world that swallows up its own creator, Dur d’être Dieu points out what is true of any creative act. Through one of the most rigorous creators of the visual image, the film opens the way to something that goes beyond cinema itself: the surprising fragility of life.

Carlo Chatrian

Translation BMP Translations

Duration
67 min
Year
2012
Country
Switzerland, Russia
Section
International Feature Film Competition
Premiere
World premiere
Language
Russian
Subtitle
French
Production
Irène ChallandElena Hill

International Feature Film Competition

→ All the Films

Dur d'être dieu

Antoine Cattin & Pavel Kostomarov
Suisse, Russie, 67 min
Première mondiale

Alexei Guerman est l’un des plus célèbres réalisateurs russes vivants. Connu et respecté pour la précision de son travail et pour son exigence, il s’engage souvent dans des projets s’étalant sur plusieurs années. Cattin et Kostomarov l’ont suivi pendant le tournage de son dernier film. Bien plus qu’un ‘making of’, Dur d’être dieu est à la fois le portrait d’un artiste et celui d’un pays.

Alexei Guerman est l’un des plus célèbres réalisateurs russes vivants. Connu et respecté pour la précision de son travail et pour son exigence, il s’engage souvent dans des projets s’étalant sur plusieurs années. Cattin et Kostomarov l’ont suivi pendant le tournage de son dernier film. Leur caméra a capté la richesse et la profondeur du travail de ce cinéaste, et l’âpreté des relations entretenues avec son équipe, qu’il contrôle d’une main de fer. “En observant les rapports entre Guerman et son entourage, notre film met en lumière un constat qui dépasse le seul univers de cet artiste : il s’agit du caractère spécifique de la mentalité russe, où les gens se considèrent à la fois maître et esclave. Comme les yeux sont le miroir de l’âme - le cinéma de Guerman est un miroir de la Russie” (AC, PK).

Plongée dans l'univers de Guerman ou immersion dans un film-monde qui engloutit son propre créateur, Dur d’être Dieu pointe ce qui est propre à tout acte de création. Par l'intermédiaire d’un des plus rigoureux créateurs d’images, le film s’ouvre à quelque chose qui dépasse le domaine du cinéma et qui tient à la surprenante fragilité de la vie.

Carlo Chatrian

Durée
67 min
Année
2012
Pays
Suisse, Russie
Section
Compétition Internationale Longs Métrages
Première
Première mondiale
Langue
russe
Sous-titre
français
Production
Irène ChallandElena Hill

Compétition Internationale Longs Métrages

→ Tous les films