Laurence Favre
Switzerland, 28 min
World premiere

“In 1947, Marie Tinguely left her homeland to work in a Swiss Mission bush hospital in South Africa. After her death, her films shot throughout her 25-year life as a missionary were found in a family apartment along with some of her correspondence. I decided to explore them.” (LF) A captivating essay about a French Swiss nun's impressions of Africa.

“In 1947, Marie Tinguely left her homeland to work in a Swiss Mission bush hospital in South Africa. After her death, her films shot throughout her 25-year life as a missionary were found in a family apartment along with some of her correspondence. I decided to explore them.” (LF)

Mass, the canteen, work. Nature. And faces, mostly African. The flow of amateur archives and their power to fascinate are countered here in a succession of title cards – text fragments – distancing them in another agenda of rhythm and semantics. A clever montage, based on a standoff between discourse and viewpoint, reveals the strong ambivalence of these images. What they show or do not show: the gaze of black people into the camera of a white person, off screen. The perfect world of the mission, the exoticism of the places and the violence of Apartheid are all relegated to the ranks of rumour. What they reveal: humanity and paternalism. What motivates them: the desire for emancipation of a young French Swiss woman who went to serve a colonial order. Alessia Bottani
Duration
28 min
Year
2013
Country
Switzerland
Section
Compétition Internationale Courts Métrages
Premiere
World premiere
Language
French
Subtitle
English
Production
Isabelle Gattiker

Compétition Internationale Courts Métrages

→ All the Films

Laurence Favre
Suisse, 28 min
Première mondiale

« En 1947, Marie Tinguely quitte sa terre natale pour aller travailler dans un hôpital de brousse de la Mission suisse en Afrique du Sud. Après sa mort, ses films tournés tout au long de ses 25 années de vie de missionnaire ainsi que quelques correspondances sont retrouvés dans un appartement familial. Je décide de les explorer. » (LF) Un essai captivant sur le regard d’une religieuse romande en terre africaine.

« En 1947, Marie Tinguely quitte sa terre natale pour aller travailler dans un hôpital de brousse de la Mission suisse en Afrique du Sud. Après sa mort, ses films tournés tout au long de ses 25 années de vie de missionnaire ainsi que quelques correspondances sont retrouvés dans un appartement familial. Je décide de les explorer. » (LF)

La messe, la cantine, le travail. La nature. Et des visages, pour la plupart africains. Le flux des archives amateur, et leur pouvoir de fascination, sont ici contrés par une succession de cartons – fragments de textes – qui les mettent à distance dans un double jeu rythmique et sémantique. Un savant montage, fondé sur la confrontation des discours et des points de vue, révèle toute l’ambivalence de ces images. Ce qu’elles montrent, ou pas : le regard des Noirs dans la caméra d’une Blanche, hors champ. Le monde parfait de la mission, l’exotisme des lieux et les violences de l’Apartheid, reléguées au rang de rumeurs. Ce qu’elles révèlent : humanité et paternalisme. Ce qui les anime : le désir d’émancipation d’une jeune Romande… partie servir un ordre colonial.
Durée
28 min
Année
2013
Pays
Suisse
Section
Compétition Internationale Courts Métrages
Première
Première mondiale
Langue
français
Sous-titre
anglais
Production
Isabelle Gattiker

Compétition Internationale Courts Métrages

→ Tous les films