L'Oiseau sans pattes

Valérianne Poidevin
Switzerland, France, 65 min

“Jean-Yves Durand is my uncle. He’s a truck driver. He wanted to be an actor.” Uncle and niece, face to face, in a relationship that develops amid passing landscapes and stops to take stock. Alternating improvised scenes and play rehearsals, past and present, L’oiseau sans pattes is proof that any journey first takes place in the minds of the travellers.

“Jean-Yves Durand is my uncle. I’m going with him on a journey. He’s a truck driver. He wanted to be an actor. By making this film, I want to pay tribute to this sensitive, eccentric personality, who has helped me take a critical look at the modern world” (VP). Uncle and niece, face to face, in a relationship that develops as landscapes go by and they stop to take stock.  Drama and literature – Jean-Yves’ long-standing enthusiasms – rise to the surface and form the link between them. Valérianne Poidevin here wears a variety of “hats”, as filmmaker and actress, niece and stage manager.

The geographical locations may seem bland, but they serve to emphasize – in a sort of tribute to the American road-movie – the other dimension of this journey: time. Alternating between past and present, L’oiseau sans pattes is proof that any journey first takes place in the minds of the travellers, confirming the words of Nicolas Bouvier: “You think you are going to make a journey, but soon it is the journey that makes – or unmakes – you.”

Carlo Chatrian

Translation BMP Translations

Trailer

Duration
65 min
Year
2012
Country
Switzerland, France
Sections
Helvétiques
Regard Neuf
Language
French
Subtitle
English
Production
Elena TattiEmilie BlézatThierry Spicher

Helvétiques

→ All the Films

L'Oiseau sans pattes

Valérianne Poidevin
Suisse, France, 65 min

« Jean-Yves Durand est mon oncle. Il est chauffeur routier. Il voulait être acteur. » Oncle et nièce, face à face, dans une relation qui évolue sur des paysages qui défilent et des haltes pour faire le point sur ce film à faire. Entre scènes improvisées et répétitions d’un texte théâtral, entre passé et présent, L’oiseau sans pattes est la preuve que tout voyage a d’abord lieu dans l’esprit des voyageurs.

« Jean-Yves Durand est mon oncle. Je l’accompagne pour un voyage en camion. Il est chauffeur routier. Il voulait être acteur. Avec ce film, je veux rendre hommage à ce personnage sensible et différent qui m’a permis d’aiguiser mon regard sur le monde d’aujourd’hui » (VP). Oncle et nièce face à face, dans une relation qui évolue sur des paysages qui défilent le long de la route et des haltes pour faire le point sur ce film à faire. Le théâtre et la littérature – anciennes passions de Jean-Yves - remontent à la surface et font le lien entre eux. Valérianne Poidevin joue ici avec ses multiples casquettes de cinéaste et de comédienne, de nièce et de metteuse en scène.

Si l’espace géographique peut paraître anodin, c’est pour mieux souligner - dans une sorte d’hommage au road-movie américain - l’autre dimension où le voyage s’accomplit : le temps. Entre présent et passé, L’oiseau sans pattes est la preuve que tout voyage a d’abord lieu dans l’esprit des voyageurs et rejoint la phrase de Nicolas Bouvier : “On croit qu'on va faire un voyage, mais bientôt c'est le voyage qui vous fait, ou vous défait”.

Carlo Chatrian

Bande-annonce

Durée
65 min
Année
2012
Pays
Suisse, France
Sections
Helvétiques
Regard Neuf
Langue
français
Sous-titre
anglais
Production
Elena TattiEmilie BlézatThierry Spicher

Helvétiques

→ Tous les films