Filippo Demarchi
Switzerland, 11 min
World premiere

How do you discuss your private life with your parents? Camera in hand, a young man talks to his parents about his avowed homosexuality. Precise humour-tinged editing lets the novice filmmaker convey the full tension and complexity of this confrontation. With just a few shots, he reveals the limits of this exchange, while showing their reciprocal pursuit of a sincere family relationship, unfolding before our very eyes.

Camera in hand, a young man talks to his parents about his avowed homosexuality. The son expects support, approval and advice. The parents feel their way between a difficult acceptance and listening. Precise editing tinged with humour allows the novice filmmaker to convey the full tension and complexity of this confrontation made all the more intense through the filming device. With apparent simplicity, in just a few shots, he reveals the fragility and restrictions of this exchange, while showing their reciprocal pursuit of a sincere family relationship, unfolding before our very eyes.
“I wanted to make this film so I would feel less alone. It came from the desire to connect with my parents in a more profound way than through discussions of the rain and fine weather. With Taglia corto !, I sought to confront my biggest problem – my inability to discuss my intimacy with my parents. I wanted them to really know me, to show them who I am inside, so as to build a more mature relationship. I wanted to assert what makes me different, so that I can love, respect and accept them more.” (FD)

Alessia Bottani

Duration
11 min
Year
2013
Country
Switzerland
Section
Premiers Pas
Premiere
World premiere
Language
Italian
Subtitle
English, French
Production
Lionel Baier
Sales Contact
Rachel Noëlrachel.noel@ecal.ch+41797778266

Premiers Pas

→ All the Films

Filippo Demarchi
Suisse, 11 min
Première mondiale

Comment parler de son intimité à ses parents ? Caméra à la main, un jeune homme évoque avec père et mère son homosexualité assumée. Par un montage sûr, teinté d’humour, l’apprenti cinéaste restitue toute la tension et la complexité de cette confrontation. En quelques plans, il met à nu les limites de cet échange, tout en montrant la quête partagée d’un rapport familial sincère, à l’œuvre sous nos yeux.

Caméra à la main, un jeune homme dialogue avec père et mère au sujet de son homosexualité assumée. Le fils attend soutien, approbation et conseil. Les parents tâtonnent, entre une difficile acceptation et l’écoute. Par un montage sûr, teinté d’humour, l’apprenti cinéaste restitue toute la tension et la complexité de cette confrontation, exacerbée par le dispositif de filmage. Avec une apparente simplicité, en quelques plans, il met à nu la fragilité et les limites de cet échange, tout en montrant la quête partagée d’un rapport familial sincère, à l’œuvre sous nos yeux.
« J’ai eu envie de faire ce film pour me sentir moins seul. Il est né de la volonté de créer un lien avec mes parents qui aille au-delà des discussions sur la pluie et le beau temps. Avec Taglia corto !, j’ai voulu affronter mon principal problème, c’est-à-dire n’être pas capable de parler de mon intimité à mes parents. J’ai voulu me laisser connaître, me laisser voir à l’intérieur pour construire un lien plus mûr. J’ai voulu affirmer ma différence pour mieux les aimer, les respecter, les accepter. » (FD)

Durée
11 min
Année
2013
Pays
Suisse
Section
Premiers Pas
Première
Première mondiale
Langue
italien
Sous-titre
anglais, français
Production
Lionel Baier
Contact de vente
Rachel Noëlrachel.noel@ecal.ch+41797778266

Premiers Pas

→ Tous les films