Jane Gillooly
United States, 70 min

In the United States, in the 1960s, in exchanges filled with sensuality, two lovers correspond secretly with audiotapes. Desire and secrets whispered in the dark. This captivating film uses a batch of tapes found on eBay to build a powerfully evocative visual and acoustic world. We are plunged into an anonymous couple’s intimacy, where reality seems like a troubling yet passionate melodrama.

In puritanical 1960s America, when the sexual revolution still seems far away, a married man and his mistress correspond secretly through audio tapes. An exchange filled with sensuality, where desire and secrets are whispered in the dark. This captivating film uses a batch of tapes bought on eBay to build a powerfully evocative visual and acoustic world. We are plunged into an anonymous couple’s secrets, where reality resembles a troubling yet passionate melodrama.

Suitcase of Love and Shame mirrors the compulsion to confess one's indiscretions in today’s online world and the impact that the new technology of portable recording devices has on our lives. The film aims at a cross-generational consciousness about exhibitionism, privacy and voyeurism. Focusing on the aural and experiential nature of the audio, the imagery in the film is restrained – abstract, evocative and expectant, so that the audience will see with their ears. The listener/viewer is variously located within and outside of the events – complicit and voyeuristic.” (JG)

Alessia Bottani

Trailer

Duration
70 min
Year
2013
Country
United States
Section
Etat d'Esprit
Language
English
Subtitle
French
Production
Jane Gillooly
Sales Contact
Jane Gilloolyjgillooly@verizon.net
loveandshame@gmail.com
+16174915585

Etat d'Esprit

→ All the Films

Jane Gillooly
États-Unis, 70 min

Etats-Unis, années 1960. Deux amants correspondent secrètement par audio-lettres, dans un échange plein de sensualité. Désirs et confidences chuchotés dans la pénombre. A partir d’un lot de bandes trouvées sur eBay, ce film envoûtant construit un univers visuel et sonore puissamment évocateur. Plongée dans l’intimité d’un couple anonyme, où le réel a les allures d’un mélodrame troublant et passionné.

Années 1960. Dans une Amérique puritaine, où la révolution sexuelle semble encore loin, un homme marié et sa maîtresse correspondent clandestinement par audio-lettres. Un échange plein de sensualité, où désirs et confidences se chuchotent dans la pénombre. A partir d’un lot de bandes audio achetées sur eBay, ce film envoûtant construit un univers visuel et sonore puissamment évocateur. Plongée dans les secrets d’un couple anonyme, où le réel a les allures d’un mélodrame troublant et passionné.

« Suitcase of Love and Shame renvoie à la propension à l’indiscrétion du monde virtuel contemporain et à l’impact que les nouvelles technologies et les appareils d’enregistrement portables ont sur nos vies. Quelles que soient les générations, le film entend sensibiliser le spectateur aux notions d’exhibitionnisme, d’intimité et de voyeurisme. S’appuyant sur une matière orale et vécue, l’imagerie du film se veut sobre – abstraite, suggestive et comme en suspens, afin que le public puisse voir en écoutant. L’auditeur/spectateur est tour à tour placé au cœur et à l’extérieur du récit – complice et voyeur. » (JG)

Bande-annonce

Durée
70 min
Année
2013
Pays
États-Unis
Section
Etat d'Esprit
Langue
anglais
Sous-titre
français
Production
Jane Gillooly
Contact de vente
Jane Gilloolyjgillooly@verizon.net
loveandshame@gmail.com
+16174915585

Etat d'Esprit

→ Tous les films