Sabine Gisiger
Switzerland, 70 min

The Lebanese-born resident of Berne, Mahmoud Turkmani, is a virtuoso on the guitar and the oud. Insulted in Egypt as ‘Ya sharr mout’ – ‘son of a prostitute’ – for his contemporary compositions, Turkmani is now going on tour with a musical project of the same name. Gisiger offers a wonderfully filmed plea for nuance interwoven with Turkmani's adventurous life story, which he tells in a remarkably conciliatory way.
Arabic characters transform themselves on the computer screen into word plays. “You only have to move two points to make good out of evil”, notes Michael Spahr, who creates the visuals for the new composition by the Lebanese musician and resident of Berne Mahmoud Turkmani.

Insulted as ‘Ya sharr mout’ (‘son of a prostitute’) at the Congress of Arabic Music, Turkmani, a virtuoso on both the guitar and the oud, responded with a musical project bearing the same name and featuring work which many traditionalists would describe as daring. The musician is now taking the project on tour.

Turkmani’s childhood calls to mind that of the Jackson 5. Then came the war. He trained in the Soviet Union and found love in Switzerland. Turkmani tells the adventurous story of his life with a friendly, nearly blissful smile, and the carefully chosen images that poetically accompany his dramatic story seem just as conciliatory.

In Ya sharr mout Sabine Gisiger offers a sensitive portrait of an artist as well as a plea against fundamentalism and in favour of open-mindedness as well as nuance – whether in music or when interpreting the frequently invoked culture war between East and West.

Jenny Billeter (Translation BMP Translations)

Duration
70 min
Year
2008
Country
Switzerland
Section
Atelier Samir
Languages
Arabic, German
Production
Karin Koch

Atelier Samir

→ All the Films

Sabine Gisiger
Suisse, 70 min

Mahmoud Turkmani, Libanais et Bernois d’adoption, est un virtuose de la guitare et de l’oud. Traité de ‘Ya sharr mout’ – ‘fils de pute’ – en Egypte à cause de ses compositions contemporaines, il part en tournée avec un projet du même nom. Ce film composé d'histoires tirées de la vie rocambolesque de Turkmani, qu’il raconte de manière apaisée, constitue un magnifique plaidoyer pour la nuance.
Sur un écran d’ordinateur, des caractères arabes se métamorphosent en jeux de mots. «Pour transformer le mal en bien, il suffit de déplacer deux points», fait remarquer Michael Spahr. Il crée les visuels de la dernière composition du Libanais et Bernois d’adoption Mahmoud Turkmani.

Lors du Congrès de la musique arabe, en Egypte, ce virtuose de la guitare et de l’oud s’est fait traiter de ‘Ya sharr mout’ – ‘fils de pute’; il prend sa revanche avec un projet du même nom, osé aux yeux des esprits traditionnels, et part ainsi en tournée.

Une enfance rappelant celle des Jackson 5, puis la guerre. Une formation en Union soviétique. L’amour qu’il rencontre en Suisse. Son histoire rocambolesque, Turkmani la raconte un sourire chaleureux aux lèvres, presque béat. Les images soigneusement cadrées, pleines de poésie, qui accompagnent son récit dramatique dégagent une impression tout aussi réjouissante.

Avec Ya sharr mout, Sabine Gisiger offre un portrait tout en finesse, ainsi qu’un plaidoyer contre le fondamentalisme, en faveur de l’ouverture d’esprit et de la nuance – qu’il s’agisse de musique ou de la guerre culturelle tant évoquée entre l’Orient et l’Occident.

Jenny Billeter (Traduction BMP Translations)

Durée
70 min
Année
2008
Pays
Suisse
Section
Atelier Samir
Langues
arabe, allemand
Production
Karin Koch

Atelier Samir

→ Tous les films