Samir Samir
Switzerland, 97 min

Their parents were immigrants to Switzerland and they themselves are ‘Secondos’ – second-generation immigrants. Their life stories are told on multiple narrative levels, reflecting on a cultural identity in an intermediate world. This flickering group portrait in the video clip style of the early 1990s is a milestone in Swiss documentary filmmaking.
Switzerland in the early 1990s is introduced didactically and with a gentle irony as a single elongated metropolitan area populated by young adults – known as ‘Secondos’ – whose parents are immigrants.

Samir, who arrived here himself from Baghdad as a child in the early 1960s, takes up the search for the new generation and finds communicative, self-assured individuals who – in ‘half and half’ mode – are at home in their own intermediate worlds. Many of them have found a chosen home in the hip-hop scene, in ice hockey, in the media and at the university…

The approach to making this flickering group portrait is just as varied as the life stories themselves: different narrative levels – interviews, archival footage, dream sequences – are brought onto the same plane using split screens, allowing the multi-layered nature of identity to find expression, too. Using an alter ego, Samir deconstructs the “foreign rule” to which foreigners are particularly – and ultimately completely – subject. Babylon 2 offers the viewer a provisional home in this intermediate world and celebrates roots and wings.

Jenny Billeter (Translation BMP Translations)

Duration
97 min
Year
1993
Country
Switzerland
Section
Atelier Samir
Languages
Swiss German, French
Subtitles
English
Production
Samir SamirKarin Koch

Atelier Samir

→ All the Films

Samir Samir
Suisse, 97 min

Leurs parents ont immigré en Suisse, ce sont les ‘Secondos’ – les migrants de la deuxième génération. Le film raconte leurs histoires personnelles sur plusieurs niveaux narratifs; explorant l’identité culturelle de ces êtres vivant dans un «entre-deux». Ce palpitant portrait de groupe filmé dans le style des clips vidéo du début des années 1990 fait date dans l’histoire du documentaire suisse.
La Suisse du début des années 1990 est présentée comme une unique et longue agglomération – avec une approche légèrement didactique, et une pointe d’ironie. De jeunes adultes, enfants d’immigrés, s’y sont installés: ce sont les ‘Secondos’.

Samir, qui est lui-même arrivé en Suisse au début des années 1960, alors qu’il était enfant, part à la recherche de la nouvelle génération. Il rencontre des individus communicatifs et sûrs d’eux, qui se sentent – ‘moitié-moitié’ – chez eux dans leur propre espace intermédiaire. Plusieurs d’entre eux ont choisi le hip-hop comme patrie – ou bien le hockey sur glace, les médias, l’université…

Le style de ce palpitant portrait de groupe est tout aussi varié que les histoires individuelles qu’il présente. Les différents niveaux narratifs – interviews, archives, rêves – sont ramenés au même plan par le procédé du ‘split screen’, reflet de la complexité de l’identité. Par ailleurs, grâce à son alter ego, Samir déconstruit le regard des autres auquel sont livrés les étrangers. Babylon 2 offre une patrie provisoire dans un entre-deux, célébrant les racines et les ailes des protagonistes.

Jenny Billeter (Traduction BMP Translations)

Durée
97 min
Année
1993
Pays
Suisse
Section
Atelier Samir
Langues
alémanique, français
Sous-titres
anglais
Production
Samir SamirKarin Koch

Atelier Samir

→ Tous les films