Daniel Schweizer
Switzerland, 90 min

The skinhead movement emerged from the love of Jamaican ska music. Today the term has largely been taken over by right-wing extremists. A traditional skingirl accompanies the director on a cinematic journey through Europe and America on the trail of the “divided brothers”, but the latter will visit the neo-Nazis alone. Skinhead Attitude is the fascinating portrait of a divided movement.
“It's impossible to be a skinhead and a racist at the same time”, said the singer of a ska band, “because skinheads wouldn’t even exist without Jamaica”. The skinhead movement emerged from the love of Jamaican ska music, but meanwhile the term has largely been taken over by right-wing extremists – to the great annoyance of traditional skinheads.

Together with skingirl Karole, Daniel Schweizer undertakes an intercontinental journey to discover what is behind a lifestyle that has experienced a profound division. A couple of English boys in the punk scene had used Nazi symbols as an efficient means of rebelling against their parents, and major bands foolishly turned this provocation into a fascist programme.

Friendliness characterizes Karole’s experiences with representatives of the ska scene in and around record shops and concert venues. Yet she will not be travelling with David Schweizer to Sweden or the American South, where Skinhead Attitude increasingly encounters fascist groups. Meanwhile, radical antifascists do not trust the filmmaker’s motives and refuse to talk to him. Skinhead Attitude is the fascinating portrait of a divided movement.

Jenny Billeter (Translation: BMP Translations)

Duration
90 min
Year
2002
Country
Switzerland
Section
Atelier Samir
Languages
English, French
Subtitles
French, English
Production
Werner SchweizerSamir Samir

Atelier Samir

→ All the Films

Daniel Schweizer
Suisse, 90 min

Le mouvement skinhead est né de l’amour porté à la musique ska jamaïcaine. Or aujourd’hui, ce terme est largement repris par des groupes d’extrême droite. Une skinhead traditionnelle accompagne le réalisateur lors de son voyage à travers l’Europe et l’Amérique, sur les traces des «frères brouillés» – mais ce dernier partira seul à la rencontre des néonazis. Un passionnant portrait d’un mouvement divisé.
«Ce n’est pas possible d’être à la fois skinhead et raciste, estime le chanteur d’un groupe de ska, parce que les skinheads n’existeraient pas sans la Jamaïque». Si le mouvement skin est né de l’amour de la musique ska de Jamaïque, aujourd’hui, cette dénomination a été largement récupérée par l’extrême droite – au grand dam des skins traditionnels.

Aux côtés de la jeune skinhead Karole, Daniel Schweizer entreprend un voyage intercontinental sur les traces de ce style de vie qui a subi une radicale scission. A l’ère du punk, une poignée de garçons anglais s’étaient rebellés contre leurs parents en affichant des symboles nazis; hélas, plusieurs grands groupes ont repris la provocation à leur compte pour en faire un programme fasciste.

De boutiques de musique en salles de concert, Karole rencontre des représentants de la scène skinhead dans une atmosphère amicale. Mais elle ne va ni en Suède ni dans le Sud des Etats-Unis, où Skinhead Attitude rencontre de plus en plus de groupes fascistes. Pendant ce temps, les groupes antifascistes radicaux ne se fient plus au cinéaste et refusent de lui parler. Un portrait passionnant d’un mouvement divisé.

Jenny Billeter (Traduction BMP Translations)

Durée
90 min
Année
2002
Pays
Suisse
Section
Atelier Samir
Langues
anglais, français
Sous-titres
français, anglais
Production
Werner SchweizerSamir Samir

Atelier Samir

→ Tous les films