Samir Samir
Switzerland | 1988 | 90 min
Language : Swiss German
Subtitles : English, French

The charming Massimo, who prefers to be known as Max, keeps himself afloat through petty criminality. With his anarchical, surrealistic leanings, Max embodies the spirit of the Zurich youth movement of 1980. Samir’s documentary films treat daily life caught in the tension between cultural identity and individuality, a direction already clearly evident in this poetic, wonderfully photographed feature film.
The charming ‘Secondo’ Massimo, who prefers to be known as Max, keeps himself afloat through petty criminality, abetted by his roommate Lizzy, who earns her money through prostitution. But instead of carrying out a commission, Max spends his time constructing an airship in a workshop – until he becomes involved in a wild spy story.

With his anarchical, surrealistic leanings, Max embodies the spirit of the Zurich youth movement of 1980. Yet Filou also pays homage to Kurt Früh’s film Bäckerei Zürrer, which tells the love story of the son of a baker and the daughter of an Italian chestnut-seller in Zurich’s Langstrasse during the 1950s – except that today the vagrants and petty criminals watch themselves on television and the Italians hang pennants from their rear view mirrors.

Samir’s documentary films treat daily life caught in the tension between cultural identity and individuality, a direction already clearly evident in this poetic, entertaining feature film.

Jenny Billeter (Translation BMP Translations)

Production
Dschoint Ventschr AGVideo Laden Zurich

Atelier Samir

→ All the Films

Samir Samir
Suisse, 90 min

Le charmant Massimo, qui se fait appeler Max, vivote en commettant de petites escroqueries. Avec son goût pour l’anarchie et le surréalisme, il incarne l’esprit de la révolte de la jeunesse zurichoise de 1980. Le tiraillement entre identité culturelle et individualité, tel que le montre Samir dans ses documentaires, se fait déjà clairement sentir dans cette œuvre de fiction poétique, magnifiquement filmée.
Massimo, un charmant ‘Secondo’ qui préfère se faire appeler Max, vivote en commettant de petites escroqueries. Il est soutenu par sa colocataire Lizzy, qui gagne sa vie en se prostituant. Au lieu de remplir une mission qu’on lui a confiée, Max se construit un dirigeable dans un atelier, puis il se retrouve impliqué dans une sombre histoire d’espionnage.

Avec son goût pour l’anarchie et le surréalisme, Max incarne l’esprit de la révolte de la jeunesse zurichoise de 1980. Filou constitue par ailleurs un hommage au film de Kurt Früh Bäckerei Zürrer, racontant l’histoire d’amour du fils d’un boulanger et de la fille d’un vendeur de marrons italien campée dans la Langstrasse de Zurich, dans les années 1950. Mais aujourd’hui, les clochards se regardent à la télévision et les Italiens accrochent un fanion à leur rétroviseur.

Le tiraillement quotidien entre identité culturelle et individualité, tel que le montre Samir dans ses documentaires, se fait déjà clairement percevoir dans ce film de fiction distrayant, d’une grande poésie.

Jenny Billeter (Traduction BMP Translations)

Durée
90 min
Année
1988
Pays
Suisse
Section
Atelier Samir
Langue
alémanique
Sous-titre
anglais, français
Production
Dschoint Ventschr AGVideo Laden Zurich

Atelier Samir

→ Tous les films