Samir Samir
Switzerland | 2002 | 112 min
Languages : Arabic, Hebrew, English
Subtitle : English

This film presents the life stories of four Jewish-Iraqi communists and intellectuals, who, as Oriental Jews, encountered life as second-class citizens in exile in Israel. The interrelatedness of cultures is treated in multi-layered fashion, enriched by excerpts of films illustrating stereotypes of Arabs and Jews.

The beginning of the second part of Samir’s trilogy on his origins focuses on his father – an Iraqi Communist who told stories again and again about his Jewish comrades in Iraq. Thus Samir seeks out four older Communists. They are not men his father knew but they talk to him extensively about their lives, shedding light on an interesting aspect of the complex situation in the Middle East. As young men, all four were forced into exile for their political beliefs. They were welcomed in Israel in order to increase the number of Jews but were treated there as second-class citizens. Even today these intellectuals encounter difficulties: for example, prize-winning author Samir Naqash cannot publish in Israel because he writes in Arabic and cannot publish in the Arabic world because he is a Jew.

Again and again, the edges begin to blur around the images of the portraits’ subjects. Cinematic impressions from their surroundings join them in the picture or their statements are amended with written words. An additional and amusing level of reflection is offered by a variety of film excerpts of Arabic and Jewish stereotypes with Samir’s commentaries as an illustration of the way the ‘zeitgeist’ continually changes.

Jenny Billeter (Translation BMP Translations)

Production
Samir SamirKarin Koch

Atelier Samir

→ All the Films

Samir Samir
Suisse, 112 min

Quatre intellectuels irakiens, juifs et communistes, vivent en exil en Israël, où ils sont considérés comme des citoyens de seconde zone du fait de leurs origines orientales. Enrichi par des extraits de films contenant des stéréotypes sur les Arabes et les Juifs, Forget Baghdad propose une réflexion à plusieurs niveaux sur l’enchevêtrement des cultures.
Samir place son père au commencement de la deuxième partie de sa trilogie consacrée à ses prores origines. Irakien et communiste, celui-ci parlait sans cesse de ses camarades juifs d’Irak. Samir rend donc visite à quatre Juifs communistes, qui n’ont certes pas connu son père, mais qui lui racontent en détail leur vie, éclairant ainsi une facette intéressante de la très complexe situation du Proche-Orient. Dans leur jeunesse, leur position politique les contraignit à l’exil. Accueillis à bras ouverts en Israël, qui souhaitait renforcer la population juive, ils furent cependant considérés comme des citoyens de seconde zone. Ces intellectuels se heurtent aujourd’hui encore à diverses difficultés. L’auteur primé Samir Naqash ne peut publier ses livres en Israël parce qu’il écrit en arabe, ni dans les pays arabes parce qu’il est juif.

Sans cesse, les bordures de l’image de ces portraits se brouillent. Il apparaît alors dans les marges des traces du quotidien de ces hommes ou des mots écrits, qui viennent parfois compléter leurs paroles. Un niveau supplémentaire de réflexion est offert par les commentaires de Samir à propos de divers passages tirés de films historiques présentant des stéréotypes arabes et juifs. Ils montrent comment l’esprit du temps ne cesse d’évoluer.

Jenny Billeter (Traduction BMP Translations)
Durée
112 min
Année
2002
Pays
Suisse
Section
Atelier Samir
Langues
arabe, hébreu, anglais
Sous-titres
anglais
Production
Samir SamirKarin Koch

Atelier Samir

→ Tous les films