Jeroen van Velzen
Netherlands, 80 min

On the trail of memories from his youth in Kenya, the filmmaker allows himself to be led by an old fisherman and his grandson into a world in which reality is not separated from imagination and dreams. Once again the fisherman catches nothing, but he is convinced that tomorrow he will catch a shark. The film’s direct representation of the fisherman’s life is impressively interwoven with mythical elements.

The old fisherman Masoud goes out to sea every day with his young helper Juma to catch a big shark. The heroic stories from days gone by in which he, the “commander”, tamed mighty animals with his own strength, find their expression today at most in a baby shark who takes the bait. Yet Masoud believes in his strength and, every day anew, in his success.

The Dutch filmmaker Jeroen van Velzen spent his childhood in Kenya and grew up with the Kenyan philosophy according to which there are two worlds – the human world and the spirit world.  The myths woven into everyday life help him later on to endure the loneliness of a British boarding school. Now he allows Masoud to lead him back into a world in which reality and dreams become one. Van Velzen’s carefully integrated personal commentary accompanies the fisherman through his day. The fisherman, in turn, is linked to legends told by a shaman and an old woman. Wavumba is beautifully filmed; even the scenes portraying reality are intertwined with each other. This is a story of how people deal with change and unfulfilled dreams.

Jenny Billeter

Translation BMP Translations

Trailer

Duration
80 min
Year
2012
Country
Netherlands
Sections
Etat d'Esprit
Regard Neuf
Languages
Dutch, Swahili
Subtitles
English
Production
Digna Sinke

Etat d'Esprit

→ All the Films

Jeroen van Velzen
Pays-Bas, 80 min

Parti sur les traces de son enfance au Kenya, le réalisateur rencontre un vieux pêcheur et son petit-fils, qui l’emmènent dans un monde où la réalité n’est pas séparée de l’imaginaire et du rêve. Le pêcheur, aujourd’hui encore bredouille, est convaincu que le lendemain il pêchera un requin. De manière impressionnante, des éléments appartenant au domaine du mythe s’entremêlent à la représentation directe de la vie du pêcheur.

Le vieux pêcheur Masoud part chaque jour en mer avec son jeune assistant Juma, dans l’espoir d’attraper un gros requin. Aux histoires de héros d’un autre temps, dans lesquelles lui, «The Commander», vainc à lui seul des animaux féroces, s’oppose la réalité – aujourd’hui, seul un bébé requin vient de mordre à l’hameçon. Mais Masoud ne doute pas de sa force, et à chaque nouvelle journée, croit à son succès.

Le réalisateur néerlandais Jeroen van Velzen a passé son enfance au Kenya. Il a grandi avec l’image du monde que se font les Kenyans, selon laquelle il existe deux mondes – celui des esprits et celui des hommes. Les mythes qui tissent le quotidien l’ont par la suite aidé à supporter la solitude de l’internat en Grande-Bretagne. Aujourd’hui, il se laisse emporter par Masoud dans un univers où la réalité et le rêve s’unissent. Les commentaires soignés de van Velzen, à la première personne, accompagnent le quotidien du pêcheur, auquel font écho des légendes racontées par une vieille femme et un chaman. Magnifiquement filmé, entremêlant différents niveaux de réalité, Wavumba parle de la transformation et des rêves qui n’ont pas été réalisés.

Jenny Billeter

Traduction BMP Translations

Bande-annonce

Durée
80 min
Année
2012
Pays
Pays-Bas
Sections
Etat d'Esprit
Regard Neuf
Langues
néerlandais, swahili
Sous-titres
anglais
Production
Digna Sinke

Etat d'Esprit

→ Tous les films