Marcelo Machado
Brazil | 2012 | 87 min
Languages : English, French, Portuguese
Subtitle : English

This carefully researched film investigates the cultural movement which began in Brazil in the late 1960s as a reaction to the popular music and nationalism of the period. Caetano Veloso, Gilberto Gil, Tom Zé (and others) mull over their experience, while magnificent archive footage brings to life the sheer inventiveness and political reach of “Tropicalism”.

This carefully researched film investigates the cultural movement which began in Brazil in the late 1960s as a reaction to the popular music and nationalism of the period. Caetano Veloso, Gilberto Gil, Tom Zé (and others) mull over their experience, emphasizing the valuable results achieved and the depth of the ideas debated, aesthetic, political and cultural. 

Delving into a multicultural phenomenon, which blended the traditional songs of the Nordeste with American psychedelic rock, and bore fruit in theatre and cinema as well as in music, this documentary eschews commentary but draws widely on contemporary (and later) accounts. Drawing on some extraordinary archive footage, Tropicalia brings to life the sheer inventiveness and political reach of a movement which brought Brazil to the attention of the world at a time when the country was enduring a dictatorship which is still little known.

Carlo Chatrian

Translation BMP Translations

Production
Paula CosenzaDenise Gomes
Sales contact
Paula Cosenzapcosenza@bossanovafilms.com.br+551138112000

Etat d'Esprit

→ All the Films

Marcelo Machado
Brésil, 87 min

Fruit d’un grand travail de recherche, le film retrace l’histoire du mouvement culturel né au Brésil à la fin des années 1960 en réaction à la musique populaire et au nationalisme de l’époque. Caetano Veloso, Gilberto Gil, Tom Zé (entre autres) reviennent sur leur expérience, tandis que de magnifiques archives font revivre la force d’inventivité et toute la portée politique du Tropicalisme.

Fruit d’un grand travail de recherche, le film retrace l’histoire du mouvement culturel né au Brésil à la fin des années 1960 en réaction à la musique populaire et au nationalisme de l’époque. Caetano Veloso, Gilberto Gil, Tom Zé (entre autres) reviennent sur leur expérience en soulignant la richesse des résultats obtenus et la profondeur des notions mises en cause d’un point de vue esthétique, politique et culturel.

Plongée dans un phénomène syncrétique unique, qui a su allier la chanson traditionnelle du Nordeste et le rock psychédélique des Etats-Unis et qui a porté ses fruits dans la musique aussi bien que dans le théâtre et le cinéma, ce documentaire refuse tout commentaire pour puiser dans les témoignages d'époque (ou postérieurs). Surgi du passé grâce à des archives extraordinaires, Tropicalia fait revivre la force d’invention et toute la portée politique du mouvement qui a placé le Brésil au coeur de l’attention mondiale, alors même que le pays subissait une dictature encore méconnue aujourd’hui.

Carlo Chatrian

Durée
87 min
Année
2012
Pays
Brésil
Section
Etat d'Esprit
Langues
anglais, français, portugais
Sous-titres
anglais
Production
Paula CosenzaDenise Gomes
Contact de vente
Paula Cosenzapcosenza@bossanovafilms.com.br+551138112000

Etat d'Esprit

→ Tous les films