Frédérique de Montblanc
Belgium, Switzerland, South Korea | 2022 | 82 min
International Premiere
Languages : English, French, German, Korean, Chinese
Subtitles : English, French

Set between Hong Kong, London and Frankfurt, this is the intimate portrait of five women working in the highest spheres of finance. Regularly stigmatised as “dragon-women”, they reveal the survival mechanisms they use and the personal battles they fight in this ultra-patriarchal professional field where they represent a tiny minority.

Alison, Leaticia, Martina, Adeline and Jennifer all hold senior positions in investment banks. Although they seem to be brilliantly navigating the highest spheres of finance, they reveal to Frédérique de Montblanc’s camera the survival mechanisms they use and the battles they are forced to fight in this particularly competitive and patriarchal field where they still represent a tiny minority. Shot between Hong Kong, London, Paris and Frankfurt, Dragon Women is an intimate portrait of five women who assess their careers by questioning their relationships with power, ambition and responsibility – implicitly building a reflection on how difficult they find it to strike a balance between their personal and professional lives. Through its precise collection of actions and words, the film recounts the stigmas the protagonists face day to day, while asking the key question about our relationship with work: to what extent does it (re)define us? How much of our identity is constructed at work, and how much of ourselves, by choice or by necessity, do we leave at home?

Camille Kaiser

Trailer

Themed walks

Filmmakers or researchers from UNIL will take you on a walk through the streets of Nyon to delve into and deepen your appreciation of this film’s subject. Balade avec Marianne Schmid Mast, chercheuse en comportement organisationnel

Screenplay
Frédérique De Montblanc
Photography
Olivier BoonjingTristan Galand
Sound
Roland Voglaire
Editing
Julie Naas
Music
Nicolas Rabaeus
Production
Adrian BlaserBeauvoir FilmsAline SchmidBeauvoir FilmsBart Van LangendonckSavage FilmHeejung OhHeejung Oh (independent)Steven ArtelsRTS Radio Télévision SuisseSven WältiSRG/SSR Schweizerische Radio- und Fernsehgesellschaft
Sales contact
Anja DzierskRise And Shine World Sales UG

National Competition

→ All the Films

Frédérique de Montblanc
Belgien, Schweiz, Republik Korea | 2022 | 82 min
Première Internationale
Sprachen : Englisch, Französisch, Deutsch, Koreanisch, Chinesisch
Untertiteln : Englisch, Französisch

Vor der Kamera von Frédérique de Montblanc erzählen fünf hochrangige Mitarbeiterinnen von Investmentbanken von ihren Überlebensstrategien und den Kämpfen, die sie in diesem besonders wettbewerbsintensiven, von patriarchalischen Strukturen geprägten Umfeld auszufechten haben, in dem sie nach wie vor eine winzige Minderheit sind. Dragon Women wurde in Hongkong, London, Paris und Frankfurt gedreht und zeichnet das intime Porträt von fünf Frauen, die auf ihre Karriere zurückblicken und dabei ihre Beziehung zu Macht, Ehrgeiz und Verantwortung hinterfragen, wobei auch die Schwierigkeit deutlich wird, ein Gleichgewicht zwischen Privat- und Berufsleben herzustellen. Mit präzisen Gesten und Worten erzählt der Film von den Stigmata, die die Protagonistinnen in ihrem Alltag verfolgen, stellt aber auch die essenzielle Frage des Verhältnisses zur Arbeit: Welche Rolle spielt sie in unserem Selbstverständnis? Welchen Teil der eigenen Identität baut man am Arbeitsplatz auf, und welchen Teil von sich selbst lässt man – freiwillig oder gezwungenermassen – zu Hause?

Camille Kaiser

Trailer

Themenspaziergang

Filmemacher oder Forscher der UNIL nehmen Sie mit auf einen Spaziergang durch die Strassen von Nyon, um die Entdeckung dieses Films zu verlängern und seine Thematik zu vertiefen. Balade avec Marianne Schmid Mast, chercheuse en comportement organisationnel

Buch
Frédérique De Montblanc
Kamera
Olivier BoonjingTristan Galand
Ton
Roland Voglaire
Schnitt
Julie Naas
Musik
Nicolas Rabaeus
Produktion
Adrian BlaserBeauvoir FilmsAline SchmidBeauvoir FilmsBart Van LangendonckSavage FilmHeejung OhHeejung Oh (independent)Steven ArtelsRTS Radio Télévision SuisseSven WältiSRG/SSR Schweizerische Radio- und Fernsehgesellschaft
Vertrieb
Anja DzierskRise And Shine World Sales UG

Nationaler Wettbewerb

→ Tous les films