Clara Teper & Paul Pirritano
France | 2022 | 72 min
World premiere
Language : French
Subtitle : English

Chaylla is fighting to free herself from a violent relationship. Her determination comes up against a part of herself that still hopes it is possible to share her life with the father of her children. This magnificent first feature film sheds upsetting light on violence against women and the difficulties of finding a way to justice.

Lens, in Northern France. 23-year-old Chaylla is fighting to free herself from a violent relationship. However, her determination comes up against a part of herself that still hopes to share her life with the father of her children. And if Chaylla, head held high, decides to press charges and reclaim her rights in the face of the society and the patriarchy in which she has no confidence, it is also thanks to the support of a duo of women – her mother-in-law and her best friend – who accompany her on a daily basis. It is with them that she shares her sorrow and passions, that she holds back her tears, smiles softly or sings at the top of her voice. The camera, always as close as possible to her face, enhances its strength, while the expressivity and magnetism of the close-ups are reminiscent of those of Renée Falconetti. Clara Teper and Paul Pirritano have made a magnificent first feature-length film shedding upsetting light on violence against women and the difficulties of finding one’s own way to justice. This social drama is infused with the extreme humanity and sincerity of a woman, Chaylla.

Alice Riva

Clara Teper
Demain l'usine, 2016
Chaylla, 2022
Paul Pirritano
Chaylla, 2022

Trailer

Themed walks

Filmmakers or researchers from UNIL will take you on a walk through the streets of Nyon to delve into and deepen your appreciation of this film’s subject. Balade avec Clara Teper et Paul Pirritano, cinéastes

Screenplay
Clara TeperPaul Pirritano
Photography
Paul Pirritano
Sound
Clara Teper
Editing
Pascale HannoyerManuel Vidal
Production
Marc FayeNOVANIMA PRODUCTIONS
Sales contact
Marc FayeNOVANIMA PRODUCTIONSdistribution@novanima.com+330662856252

International Feature Film Competition

→ All the Films

Clara Teper & Paul Pirritano
France | 2022 | 72 min
Première mondiale
Langue : français
Sous-titre : anglais

Chaylla se bat pour se libérer d’une relation conjugale violente. Sa détermination se confronte à une partie d’elle-même qui espère toujours possible de faire sa vie avec le père de ses enfants. Ce splendide premier long-métrage porte un éclairage bouleversant sur les violences faites aux femmes et les difficultés de se frayer son propre chemin vers la justice.

Lens, nord de la France. Chaylla, 23 ans, se bat pour se libérer d’une relation conjugale violente. Cependant, sa détermination se confronte à une partie d’elle qui espère toujours faire sa vie avec le père de ses enfants. Et si Chaylla, tête haute, décide de porter plainte et de reprendre ses droits face à la société et au patriarcat en lesquels elle n’a aucune confiance, c'est aussi grâce au soutien d’un duo de femmes – sa belle-mère et sa meilleure amie – qui l'accompagnent au quotidien. C’est avec elles qu’elle partage ses peines et passions, qu’elle ravale ses larmes, sourit doucement ou chante à tue-tête. La caméra, toujours au plus près de son visage, en magnifie la force, tandis que  l’expressivité et le magnétisme des gros plans évoquent celle de Renée Falconetti. Clara Teper et Paul Pirritano réalisent un splendide premier long-métrage portant un éclairage bouleversant sur les violences faites aux femmes et les difficultés de se frayer son propre chemin vers la justice. Un drame social traversé par l’extrême humanité et la sincérité d’une femme, Chaylla.

Alice Riva

 
Clara Teper
Demain l'usine, 2016
Chaylla, 2022
Paul Pirritano
Chaylla, 2022

Bande-annonce

Balade thématique

Des cinéastes ou des chercheur·e·s de l’UNIL vous emmènent à travers les rues de Nyon pour prolonger la découverte de ce film et approfondir sa thématique. Balade avec Clara Teper et Paul Pirritano, cinéastes

Scénario
Clara TeperPaul Pirritano
Photographie
Paul Pirritano
Son
Clara Teper
Montage
Pascale HannoyerManuel Vidal
Production
Marc FayeNOVANIMA PRODUCTIONS
Contact de vente
Marc FayeNOVANIMA PRODUCTIONSdistribution@novanima.com+330662856252

Compétition Internationale Longs Métrages

→ Tous les films