All of Our Heartbeats Are Connected Through Exploding Stars

Jennifer Rainsford
Sweden | 2022 | 77 min
World premiere
Languages : English, Japanese
Subtitles : English, French

On March 11, 2011, a tsunami devastated the coasts of Japan, claiming thousands of lives. Today, the scars of this tragedy remain visible. Yet in spite of this, people, plants and animals alike continue to exist. Through striking images shot on land and in the sea, Jennifer Rainsford’s film celebrates human resilience and the endless beauty of our planet.

Eleven years have passed since a tsunami ravaged the coasts of Japan, caused by a deadly earthquake followed by a nuclear disaster, leaving thousands dead or with nowhere to go. The long-lasting destruction is still an open wound for the inhabitants of the region. Yet in spite of everything, nature found its way and created new, unexpected landscapes. Divers exploring the waters in search of their lost ones, floating ghost nets traveling the ocean, photo album archivists, mysterious organisms at the bottom of the sea and superheroes are all part of this meditative fresco, where the invisible bonds that keep us together resurface through the sensitive gaze of Jennifer Rainsford.

Rebecca De Pas

All of Our Heartbeats Are Connected Through Exploding Stars, 2022

Trailer

Themed walks

Filmmakers or researchers from UNIL will take you on a walk through the streets of Nyon to delve into and deepen your appreciation of this film’s subject. Balade avec Julia Steinberger, chercheuse en économie écologique

Screenplay
Jennifer Rainsford
Photography
Karolina PajakIga MiklerWojtek Sulezycki
Sound
Ted Krotkiewski
Editing
Camille CotteAmalie Westerlin Tjellesen
Music
Teho Teardo
Production
Michael KrotkiewskiMomento FIlmDavid HerdiesMirjam Gelhorn
Sales contact
Irena TaskovskiTaskovski FIlmsirena@taskovskifilms.com

International Feature Film Competition

→ All the Films

All of Our Heartbeats Are Connected Through Exploding Stars

Jennifer Rainsford
Suède | 2022 | 77 min
Première mondiale
Langues : anglais, japonais
Sous-titres : anglais, français

Le 11 mars 2011, un tsunami a dévasté les côtes japonaises, emportant des milliers de vies. Aujourd’hui, les cicatrices de cette tragédie restent visibles. Malgré tout, individu·e·s, plantes et animaux continuent d’exister. À travers des images remarquables tournées sur la terre et dans la mer, le film de Jennifer Rainsford célèbre la résilience humaine et la beauté infinie de notre planète.

Onze ans se sont écoulés depuis qu'un tsunami a ravagé les côtes du Japon, provoquant un tremblement de terre meurtrier suivi d'une catastrophe nucléaire, faisant des milliers de morts ou de personnes n'ayant nulle part où aller. Cette longue destruction est toujours une plaie ouverte pour les habitant·e·s de la région. Malgré tout, la nature a trouvé sa voie et créé de nouveaux paysages inattendus. Plongeur.euse.s explorant les eaux en quête de leurs disparus, filets fantômes flottants parcourant l'océan, archivistes d'albums photos, mystérieux organismes des fonds marins et superhéro·ïne·s prennent part à cette fresque méditative, où les liens invisibles qui nous unissent resurgissent à travers le regard sensible de Jennifer Rainsford.

Rebecca De Pas

 
All of Our Heartbeats Are Connected Through Exploding Stars, 2022

Bande-annonce

Balade thématique

Des cinéastes ou des chercheur·e·s de l’UNIL vous emmènent à travers les rues de Nyon pour prolonger la découverte de ce film et approfondir sa thématique. Balade avec Julia Steinberger, chercheuse en économie écologique

Scénario
Jennifer Rainsford
Photographie
Karolina PajakIga MiklerWojtek Sulezycki
Son
Ted Krotkiewski
Montage
Camille CotteAmalie Westerlin Tjellesen
Musique
Teho Teardo
Production
Michael KrotkiewskiMomento FIlmDavid HerdiesMirjam Gelhorn
Contact de vente
Irena TaskovskiTaskovski FIlmsirena@taskovskifilms.com

Compétition Internationale Longs Métrages

→ Tous les films