Il mondo di Nermina

Vittoria Fiumi
Italy, Switzerland, Germany, 54 min
World premiere

A brave woman, Nermina, returns to Bosnia with her husband and children, back to her native land that was the scene of genocide in 1992. Despite her memories of war and unemployment, the protagonist is determined to rebuild her life in the place where she was born. Raw archive images of the war-torn village are intertwined with the normality of the family’s everyday life.

Nermina, tenacious, courageous and stubborn, is a Bosnian woman: after years in exile due to the war, she returns with a few of her fellow countrymen to her native village which in the past was the site of mass murders. Nermina works as a farmer to raise her three children and try to satisfy dreams and ambitions which the circumstances in this country seem to make impossible.

To earn something extra, she periodically goes back to Germany, where she works as a cleaning lady. The director offers us impressions of existences gathered from everyday activities. In a purely observational way, the documentary - broken up here and there by footage from the end of the war - gives a glimpse of the uneasiness of a generation; that of Nermina, who seems not yet to have processed the tragedies of the past, and another one: that of her children who wish to have a future and be able to improve their own living conditions. An uneasiness experienced from the female perspective. The beautiful final image of a carousel in motion closes the film, leaving us with more questions than answers.

Manuela Ruggeri

Trailer

Duration
54 min
Year
2014
Country
Italy, Switzerland, Germany
Section
Helvétiques
Premiere
World premiere
Language
Bosnian
Subtitle
English, French
Production
Associazione PlinioFlavia OertwigVittoria Fiumi
Sales Contact
Vittoria Fiumivittoria.fiumi@gmail.com
vittoria.fiumi@gmail.com
+410765599755
+393478260107
+41765599755
+393478260107

Helvétiques

→ All the Films

Il mondo di Nermina

Vittoria Fiumi
Italie, Suisse, Allemagne, 54 min
Première mondiale

Une femme courageuse, Nermina, retourne en Bosnie avec son mari et ses enfants, sur sa terre natale qui fut le lieu d’un génocide en 1992. Malgré ses souvenirs de la guerre et le chômage, la protagoniste est déterminée à reconstruire sa vie là où elle est née. D’âpres images d’archives du village déchiré par la guerre se mêlent à la normalité de la vie quotidienne de la famille.

Nermina, tenace, courageuse et entêtée, est une femme bosnienne : après des années d’exil à cause de la guerre, elle revient avec une poignée de compatriotes dans son village natal, où ont eu lieu des massacres. Nermina travaille comme agricultrice, et pour arrondir ses fins de mois, elle retourne périodiquement en Allemagne, où elle travaille comme femme de ménage. Elle élève trois enfants et essaie de satisfaire les rêves et les ambitions que les circonstances dans ce pays semblent rendre impossibles.

La réalisatrice nous offre des impressions d’existences recueillies lors d’activités quotidiennes, dans un documentaire d’observation – entrecoupé çà et là par des images de la fin de la guerre – qui donne un aperçu du malaise d’une génération ; celle de Nermina, qui semble ne pas avoir encore accepté les tragédies du passé, et une autre : celle de ses enfants, qui souhaitent avoir un avenir et pouvoir améliorer leurs conditions de vie. Un malaise vécu d’un point de vue féminin. La belle image d’un manège en mouvement qui clôt le film, nous laisse face à davantage de questions que de réponses.

Manuela Ruggeri

Bande-annonce

Durée
54 min
Année
2014
Pays
Italie, Suisse, Allemagne
Section
Helvétiques
Première
Première mondiale
Langue
bosniaque
Sous-titre
anglais, français
Production
Associazione PlinioFlavia OertwigVittoria Fiumi
Contact de vente
Vittoria Fiumivittoria.fiumi@gmail.com
vittoria.fiumi@gmail.com
+410765599755
+393478260107
+41765599755
+393478260107

Helvétiques

→ Tous les films