Jérôme Monnot & Milla Quixote
Switzerland | 2014 | 51 min
World premiere
Languages : English, French, Spanish
Subtitles : English, French

What do a stylized Icelandic volcanic eruption, old electric wires brought back to life, robots which imitate the movement of a swarm of fishes, shadows of anthropomorphous animals, and the murderer of Jean-Luc Godard have in common? In this dynamic film we discover how various artists incorporate and process new technological discoveries and contemporary digital culture in their art.

What do a stylized Icelandic volcanic eruption, old electric wires brought back to life, robots that imitate the movement of a swarm of fishes, shadows of anthropomorphous animals, a virtual city, and the murderer of Jean-Luc Godard have in common?

They are contemporary artworks of young artists previously working in disciplines such as architecture, design, or VJing, who now are experimenting with 3D, architectural geometry, light projections and performances. Through interviews with a dynamic editing style we discover how the artists incorporate and process new technological discoveries and contemporary digital culture in their art. Starting from portraying the atmosphere of the exhibition, the film moves to the original inspirational places of the artists, inviting “(…) the viewer to partake in a broader discussion about the fast-moving evolution of global visual culture and its impact on our manner of living, thinking and consuming in everyday life. Underlining the fact that we are constantly moving into the future described in old science-fiction movies and books, this is an attempt to step back and observe the constant desire for progress inherent to humankind” (JM MQ).

Manuela Ruggeri

Trailer

Production
Alexandre IordachescuBoris Edelstein
Sales contact
Alexandre Iordachescuadmin@elefantfilms.ch+41792902108
+41223016500

Helvétiques

→ All the Films

Jérôme Monnot & Milla Quixote
Suisse | 2014 | 51 min
Première mondiale
Langues : anglais, français, espagnol
Sous-titres : anglais, français

Qu’ont en commun l’éruption stylisée d’un volcan islandais, des vieux fils électriques ramenés à la vie, des robots imitant le mouvement d’un banc de poissons, des ombres de bêtes anthropomorphes et l’assassin de Jean-Luc Godard ? Dans ce film dynamique, nous découvrons comment des artistes intègrent et utilisent les nouvelles découvertes technologiques et la culture numérique dans leur art.

Qu’est-ce que l’éruption stylisée d’un volcan islandais, des vieux fils électriques ramenés à la vie, des robots imitant le mouvement d’un banc de poissons, des ombres de bêtes anthropomorphes, une ville virtuelle et l’assassin de Jean-Luc Godard ont en commun?

Ce sont des œuvres de jeunes artistes contemporains ayant travaillé dans des disciplines comme l’architecture, le design ou le VJing et qui expérimentent à présent la 3D, la géométrie architecturale, la projection de lumière et la performance. A travers des entretiens, sur un montage dynamique, nous découvrons comment ces artistes intègrent et utilisent les nouvelles découvertes technologiques et la culture numérique contemporaine dans leur art. Dépeignant d’abord l’ambiance de l’exposition, le film passe aux lieux d’inspiration des artistes, invitant « (...) le spectateur à prendre part à une discussion plus large sur l’évolution rapide de la culture visuelle et son impact sur notre mode de vie, de pensée et de consommation. Soulignant le fait que nous nous approchons sans cesse du futur décrit dans les vieux films et livres de science-fiction, le film tente de prendre du recul et d’observer le désir constant de progrès inhérent à l’humain » (JM MQ).

Manuela Ruggeri

Bande-annonce

Production
Alexandre IordachescuBoris Edelstein
Contact de vente
Alexandre Iordachescuadmin@elefantfilms.ch+41792902108
+41223016500