Created in 2014, the Prix Maître du Réel awards the body of work of a filmmaker who has been as active in the field of documentary film as in that of fiction.

From Claire Denis in 2020 to Werner Herzog for the Festival’s 50th edition (in 2019), not to mention Claire Simon, Peter Greenaway, Alain Cavalier, Barbet Schroeder or Richard Dindo, all of the Maîtres du Réel have helped to broaden the spectrum of cinematographical possibilities. In 2021, the prize and the homage are being renamed in a desire for simplification and openness. In this vein, Emmanuel Carrère becomes the first “Guest of Honour” for Visions du Réel.