And the King Said, What a FANTASTIC MACHINE

Axel Danielson & Maximilien Van Aertryck
Sweden, Denmark | 2023 | 88 min
Swiss Premiere
Languages : Swedish, English, French, German, Arabic
Subtitles : French, English

Barely 200 years separate the very first photographs from the 45 billion cameras of our modern era. This is nothing short of a revolution, resulting in a world where images — which have now become “content” — hold sway over our lives. Danielson and Van Aertryck deliver a headlong journey into the centre of the captivating story of humanity’s latest infatuation.

In the beginning was the ‘camera obscura’: this simple device contained a hole that let light through, thus creating an image projected onto a surface, through a process that was easily reproduced at home... Then in 1828, Nicéphore Niépce succeeded in printing this image onto a plate and in doing so, invented photography. Since then, the world has been animated by a frantic quest to create images, and currently numbers 45 billion cameras. Axel Danielson & Maximilien Van Aertryck take us on a fast-paced journey through this revolution, offering an amusing, concise and intelligent history spanning the creation of the first images to today’s production of content: from the first photograph to images of the Earth from the Moon, from propaganda images to beauty-filter selfies, from game shows to cat videos, humanity seems to have recorded everything by constantly developing technologies that modify our experience of reality. And the King Said, What a Fantastic Machine is a dizzying dive into the heart of humanity and its world of images, from a critical and existentialist point of view. So, is this machine still fantastic?

 

Aurélien Marsais

Axel Danielson
Fantastic Machine, 2023
Jobs For All!, 2021
Because the World Never Stops, 2016
Ten Meter Tower, 2016
Maximillien Van Aertryck
Fantastic Machine, 2023
Jobs For All!, 2021
Because the World Never Stops, 2016
Ten Meter Tower, 2016
Extramaterial, 2016

Trailer

Themed walks

Filmmakers or researchers from UNIL will take you on a walk through the streets of Nyon to delve into and deepen your appreciation of this film’s subject. Balade avec Olivier Glassey, sociologue (UNIL)

Photography
Maximilien Van AertryckAxel Danielson
Sound
Anne Gry Kristiansen
Editing
Axel DanielsonMaximilien Van AertryckMikal Cee Karlsson
Production
Axel DanielsonPlattform ProduktionMaximilien Van AertryckPlattform Produktion
Sales contact
Tajana KosorHereticfestivals@heretic.gr+302106005260

And the King Said, What a FANTASTIC MACHINE

Axel Danielson & Maximilien Van Aertryck
Suède, Danemark | 2023 | 88 min
Première suisse
Langues : suédois, anglais, français, allemand, arabe
Sous-titres : français, anglais

Entre les toutes premières photographies et notre époque, où coexistent 45 milliards d’appareils de prise de vue, il y a à peine 200 ans. Une véritable révolution dans notre monde où les images, devenues « contenu », régissent nos vies. Danielson et Van Aertryck proposent un voyage à mille à l’heure au coeur de l’histoire passionnante de ce récent engouement de l’humanité.

Au début, il y eu la 'camera obscura' : ce procédé, fait d’un simple trou laissant passer la lumière et créant ainsi une image projetée sur une surface, était facilement reproduisible chez soi... Puis en 1828, Nicéphore Niépce parvient à imprimer cette image sur une plaque : c’est l’invention de la photographie. Depuis, c’est une course effrénée à la création d’images qui anime la planète, avec ses 45 milliards d’appareils de prise de vue. Axel Danielson et Maximilien Van Aertryck proposent un voyage à mille à l'heure au coeur de cette révolution, proposant une histoire amusée, concise et intelligente de la création d’images à la production de contenus : de la première photographie aux images de la Terre vue de la lune, des images de propagande aux selfies 'beauty filter', des jeux télévisés aux vidéos de chats, l’humanité semble avoir tout enregistré en développant sans cesse les technologies pour modifier notre expérience de la réalité. And the King Said, What a Fantastic Machine est une plongée vertigineuse, au cœur de l’humanité et de son monde des images, à la portée critique et existentialiste. Alors, toujours fantastique cette machine ?

 

Aurélien Marsais

Axel Danielson
Fantastic Machine, 2023
Jobs For All!, 2021
Because the World Never Stops, 2016
Ten Meter Tower, 2016
Maximillien Van Aertryck
Fantastic Machine, 2023
Jobs For All!, 2021
Because the World Never Stops, 2016
Ten Meter Tower, 2016
Extramaterial, 2016

Séances et billets


Mercredi 26 avril 2023 à 18:00
En présence du·de la cinéaste

Samedi 29 avril 2023 à 10:30

Bande-annonce

Balade thématique

Des cinéastes ou des chercheur·e·s de l’UNIL vous emmènent à travers les rues de Nyon pour prolonger la découverte de ce film et approfondir sa thématique. Balade avec Olivier Glassey, sociologue (UNIL)

Photographie
Maximilien Van AertryckAxel Danielson
Son
Anne Gry Kristiansen
Montage
Axel DanielsonMaximilien Van AertryckMikal Cee Karlsson
Production
Axel DanielsonPlattform ProduktionMaximilien Van AertryckPlattform Produktion
Contact de vente
Tajana KosorHereticfestivals@heretic.gr+302106005260