Testamentet

Christan Sønderby Jepsen
Denmark | 2011 | 85 min
Languages : Danish, German
Subtitle : English

Sometimes reality surpasses even the most incredible cock-and-bull stories. And Christian Sønderby Jepsen's tragicomic and warm film about three brothers who inherit a fortune from their grandfather is certainly stranger than fiction. Even in Hollywood, nobody would believe  the story… A film which proves that blood is thicker than water, and that true happiness cannot be bought with money.

Henrik, aged 33, separated from his wife and son, does not know what to do with his life. He kills time with his brother, an ex-prisoner on methadone. Drinking, smoking pot and driving around, they live a sad life, biding their time as heirs to the family empire. The fact is that their grandfather, a wealthy German businessman, has just died. But their hopes of a new life are soon dashed. In the legal battle and settling of scores, all their childhood wounds resurface… A poignant portrait, at times off-beat, part direct cinema, part flashback.
“With Testamentet, I stood in the middle of the ultimate combination. A reality which is magnificent in itself, with death, manipulation and great emotions. An epic tale that unfolded before my very eyes. My ambition was to capture the raw reality, with the somewhat bizarre and highly sympathetic main character Henrik and his strange life, thoughts and entourage. A realistic drama that is sometimes stranger than fiction in its extremity and unpredictability” (CSJ).

Alessia Bottani

Translation  BMP Translations

Production
Julie PedersenSarita Christensen

Doc Alliance

→ All the Films

Testamentet

Christan Sønderby Jepsen
Danemark, 85 min

La réalité surpasse parfois les histoires les plus incroyables. A la fois chaleureux et tragicomique, ce film de Christian Sønderby Jepsen sur trois frères qui héritent de la fortune de leur grand-père semble plus surréaliste qu’une fiction. Même à Hollywood, personne n’y croirait… Un documentaire qui prouve que les liens du sang sont plus forts que tout, et que le véritable bonheur ne s’achète pas.

Henrik, 33 ans, chômeur séparé de sa femme et de son fils, ne sait pas bien quoi faire de sa vie. Il trompe le temps avec son frère, ancien taulard sous méthadone. Entre boisson, pétards et virées en voiture, ils traînent leur détresse, suspendus à leur sort de futurs héritiers de l’empire familial. C’est que leur grand-père, un riche entrepreneur allemand, vient de mourir. Mais leurs espoirs d’une vie nouvelle seront vite déçus. De batailles légales en règlements de compte, ce sont toutes les blessures de l’enfance qui resurgissent… Un portrait poignant, tantôt décalé, entre cinéma direct et ‘flashs-back’.
« Avec ce film, j’étais face à une combinaison idéale. La réalité dans toute sa splendeur, faite de mort, de manipulation et de grandes émotions. Et un conte épique qui se jouait sous mes yeux. Mon ambition a été de raconter une réalité crue en accompagnant Henrik, personnage assez bizarre et très sympathique, dans l’étrangeté de sa vie, de ses pensées et de son entourage. Testamentet est un drame réaliste, qui parfois dépasse l’imagination par son caractère extrême et imprévisible» (CSJ).

Alessia Bottani

Durée
85 min
Année
2011
Pays
Danemark
Section
Doc Alliance
Langues
danois, allemand
Sous-titres
anglais
Production
Julie PedersenSarita Christensen

Doc Alliance

→ Tous les films