Separation of Trails (Switzerland)

La Séparation des traces

Separation of Trails

  • Francis Reusser

Synopsis

Francis Reusser is a photographer and director with a long career behind him. With this film, the Swiss director revisits the places from his personal memory (the Alpine landscapes of his childhood, the streets of the towns in which he shot some of his films) as well as those in his cinephilic memory. In this enormous work of reconstruction, taking the form of a filmed diary, it becomes impossible to separate the traces of his life and his work. After having directed, seen, and loved so many films, is it possible to do otherwise?
Reusser, equipped with a small video camera here, plays the dual role of he who sees and he who is seen, and successfully tells his story with humour and intelligence, never sinking into bitterness. His account, tinged with the nostalgia of one convinced that he experienced better times for the film industry, and also driven along by the strength of one who continues to make films despite economic constraints. A love letter to the films of the past, full of hope for the future. A real song of resistance.

Elena López Riera

Length: 75'
Country: Switzerland
Year: 2018
Language(s): French
Premiere status at VdR: World Premiere
VdR edition: 2018
VdR award(s): Mention Spéciale, Jury Compétition Nationale VdR2018

Production

Xavier Grin (P.S. Productions)
Irène Challand (RTS)
Sven Wälti (SRG SSR)

Sales Contact

Xavier Grin
P.S. Productions
xavier.grin@ps-productions.ch
Tel. +4121 922 03 72

Screenings

Language(s):  French
Subtitles:  English
  • Sa 14 April
  • 19:30
Théâtre de Marens

Followed by a discussion

SOIRÉE RTS Cérémonie de remise du Prix RTS: Perspectives d'un doc, suivi de la projection du film, puis apéritif offert par la RTS. // Awards ceremony, screening of the film and drinks offered by RTS.

Separation of Trails (Switzerland)

La Séparation des traces

Separation of Trails

  • Francis Reusser

Synopsis

Francis Reusser est un photographe et cinéaste qui a une longue carrière derrière lui. Avec ce film, le réalisateur suisse revisite les lieux de sa mémoire intime (les paysages alpins de son enfance, les rues des villes où il a tourné certains de ses films) ainsi que ceux de sa mémoire cinéphilique. Dans cet énorme travail de reconstruction qui prend la forme d’un journal filmé, la séparation des traces entre sa vie et son travail devient impossible. Après autant de films réalisés, regardés, aimés, est-il possible de faire autrement ?
Reusser, muni ici d’une toute petite caméra vidéo, joue le double jeu de celui qui regarde et celui qui est regardé, et réussit à se raconter avec humour et intelligence sans jamais tomber dans l’amertume. Son récit, teinté par la nostalgie de celui qui est persuadé d’avoir connu une époque meilleure pour le cinéma, et aussi porté par la force de celui qui continue à faire des films malgré les contraintes économiques. Une lettre d’amour au cinéma du passé, pleine d’espoir en l'avenir. Un vrai chant de résistance.

Elena López Riera

Durée: 75'
Pays: Suisse
Année: 2018
Langue(s): Français
Statut de première à VdR: World Premiere
Edition VdR: 2018
Prix à VdR: Mention Spéciale, Jury Compétition Nationale VdR2018

Production

Xavier Grin (P.S. Productions)
Irène Challand (RTS)
Sven Wälti (SRG SSR)

Contact de vente

Xavier Grin
P.S. Productions
xavier.grin@ps-productions.ch
Tél. +4121 922 03 72

Bande-annonce

Ouvrir en pop-up

Projections

Langue(s):  Français
Sous-titres :  Anglais
  • Sa 14 Avril
  • 19:30
Théâtre de Marens

Projection suivie d’un débat

SOIRÉE RTS Cérémonie de remise du Prix RTS: Perspectives d'un doc, suivi de la projection du film, puis apéritif offert par la RTS. // Awards ceremony, screening of the film and drinks offered by RTS.