A word from our partners

Visions du Réel is happily able to take place live again. La Mobilière is pleased to be continuing its commitment as main partner of the event for another three years.

This year’s festival is also special for another reason. As part of our commitment to young people, we have developed some joint projects with Visions du Réel. Two film design workshops will therefore be addressed at young people aged between 13 and 15, one on the fringes of the festival and the other during our Atelier du Futur summer camp. We are delighted about this new chapter of our shared history.

Michèle Rodoni
CEO
La Mobilière

 

The International Film Festival of Nyon, Visions du Réel, stands out as a place of exchange, reflection and emotion, bringing together professionals and enthusiasts around documentary cinema. It is an essential meeting place for anyone wishing to understand the world and its complex realities through the sharp eyes of filmmakers.

SSR and RTS, the festival’s historical partners, share this vocation. We are proud to contribute to documentary creation and to its influence, with special thanks to Play Suisse. The Swiss streaming platform is showcasing a rich collection of documentaries, including a selection Visions du réel labelled gems, which are now available for you to discover.

Gilles Marchand
Director general SRG SSR

Pascal Crittin
Director RTS

 

“Telling the story of reality in all its complexity”

We live in strange times: we are on the verge of emerging from an unprecedented pandemic and we can finally get back to that strange and delightful ritual that is cinema: sitting comfortably in a dark room and letting ourselves be carried away by the light of the projector that imprints a story on our eyes.
Yet at the same time, war erupts on our screens, disruptively delivering the violence of a new conflict on Europe’s doorstep.
It is at moments like these that we measure the importance of the documentary approach, its long duration, its humanism and its desire to tell the story of reality in all its complexity. In this context, Visions du Réel is becoming an increasingly important and necessary festival.

Cesla Amarelle
State Councillor

 

Always with innovative ideas and a pioneering spirit 

The partnership between Visions du Réel and the Swiss Agency for Development and Cooperation (SDC) has existed for 20 years. During that period, the festival has developed considerably, always with innovative ideas and a pioneering spirit. Not only has it become a meeting place for professional documentary filmmakers from all over the world, but Visions du Réel has also been flexible and quick to transition to the hybrid or digital. New spaces have opened up in the virtual world, but the old ones remain. That is why we are looking forward to personal exchanges in Nyon and the opportunity to watch documentaries together with other fans. Many thanks for the good partnership and the great commitment to filmmakers from the South and East. This year as well, we are looking forward to a programme that will transport us into new realities.

Patricia Danzi
Director General
Swiss Agency for Development and Cooperation SDC

 

The Visions du Réel festival has been exploring documentary film – and the fine line between fiction and reality – for more than 50 years now, building a reputation as one of the leading festivals of its kind in Europe. It has become a key event for the industry, featuring an ambitious programme that draws very diverse audiences. Having organised two exciting online editions because of the pandemic, we will once again be able to gather in person for the 2022 event. Film festivals are important sites of discussion and debate about the state of the world – and the filmmakers who focus on reality make an especially vital contribution to this dialogue. Their unique view on the world today has become more important than ever.

Alain Berset
Conseiller fédéral

Mot des partenaires

Visions du Réel peut à nouveau avoir lieu en présentiel, quelle joie! La Mobilière est heureuse de poursuivre son engagement pour trois ans en tant que partenaire principal.

Cette édition est aussi particulière pour une autre raison. Dans le cadre de notre engagement pour les jeunes, nous avons développé des projets communs avec Visions du Réel. Ainsi, deux ateliers de création de films seront proposés aux jeunes de 13 à 15 ans, l’un en marge du Festival, l’autre lors de notre camp d’été Atelier du Futur. Nous sommes ravis de ce nouveau chapitre de notre histoire commune.

Michèle Rodoni
CEO
La Mobilière


Le Festival international de cinéma de Nyon, Visions du Réel, se distingue comme lieu d’échanges, de réflexions et d’émotions, réunissant professionnel·les et passionné·es autour du cinéma du réel. Un rendez-vous incontournable pour qui souhaite appréhender le monde et ses réalités complexes à travers le regard affûté de cinéastes.  

La SSR et la RTS, partenaires historiques du festival, partagent cette vocation. Nous sommes [sont] fières de contribuer à la création documentaire ainsi qu’à son rayonnement notamment grâce à Play Suisse. La plateforme de streaming suisse met à l’honneur une riche collection d’œuvres documentaires dont une sélection labélisée Visions du Réel à découvrir dès à présent.

Gilles Marchand
Directeur général SRG SSR

Pascal Crittin
Directeur RTS


« Raconter la réalité dans tous les plis de sa complexité »

Nous vivons des temps étranges : nous sommes sur le point de sortir d’une pandémie sans précédent et pouvons enfin renouer avec cet étrange et délicieux rituel consistant à s’installer confortablement dans une salle obscure et à se laisser emporter par la lumière d’un récit qui s’imprime sur nos rétines.

Pourtant au même instant, la guerre fait irruption sur nos petits écrans, délivrant de manière disruptive la violence d’un nouveau conflit aux portes de l’Europe.

C’est dans ce genre de moments que nous mesurons l’importance de la démarche documentaire, son temps long, son humanisme et sa volonté de raconter la réalité dans tous les plis de sa complexité. Dans ce contexte, Visions du Réel s’inscrit comme un festival toujours plus incontournable et nécessaire.

Cesla Amarelle
Conseillère d’Etat


Des idées innovantes et un esprit pionnier en permanence

Le partenariat entre Visions du Réel et la Direction du développement et de la coopération (DDC) est né il y a 20 ans. Depuis, le Festival s’est considérablement développé, suivant sans cesse des idées novatrices et un esprit pionnier. Il est non seulement devenu le rendez-vous de l’industrie pour les réalisateurs de documentaires professionnels du monde entier, mais Visions du Réel a également évolué avec souplesse et rapidité dans la transition vers l’hybride ou le numérique. De nouveaux espaces se sont ouverts dans l’univers virtuel, mais les anciens demeurent. C’est la raison pour laquelle nous nous réjouissons d’échanger en personne à Nyon et de pouvoir regarder des documentaires avec d’autres fans. Un grand merci pour ce partenariat fructueux et votre engagement sans faille envers les cinéastes du Sud et de l’Est. Cette année encore, nous avons hâte de découvrir un programme qui nous transportera vers de nouvelles réalités.

Patricia Danzi
Directrice
Direction du développement et de la coopération DDC


Depuis plus de 50 ans, le festival Visions du Réel explore le cinéma documentaire en questionnant la fine frontière entre fiction et réalité. Il s’est ainsi imposé comme l’un des principaux festivals du genre en Europe. Il attire par sa programmation ambitieuse un public très varié et s’est constitué en rendez-vous de tout premier plan pour la branche. Après avoir relevé avec brio le défi d’organiser ses deux dernières éditions en ligne en raison de la pandémie du Covid, l’édition 2022 de Visions du Réel nous promet à nouveau des rencontres en présentiel. Les festivals de cinéma sont un lieu important d’échanges et de débats sur le monde, et les cinéastes du réel y contribuent de manière prépondérante. Cette mise en perspective de l’actualité paraît aujourd’hui plus essentielle que jamais.

Alain Berset
Conseiller fédéral