La vida suspendida de Harley Prosper (Mexico)

The Still Life of Harley Prosper

La vida suspendida de Harley Prosper

  • Juan Manuel Sepúlveda

Synopsis

As a child, Harley Prosper was designated the “medicine man”, a significant role for the spiritual conscience of his Native American community, which is fighting the abandonment of its ancestral traditions. But the chosen one fled his destiny. He descended into alcoholism and is letting himself die in Vancouver, in a hospital for the terminally ill.
Locked up in this voluntary exile, Prosper defies the spirit that lives within him, confronting the inner voices that constantly remind him that it is impossible to escape his destiny. And even less so his history.
The camera films the last days of this man at the peak of his frenzy. Juan Manuel Sepúlveda pushes the interview device to the extreme, questioning all the voices and all the men who live in Harley Prosper’s spirit, exploring each centimetre of his skin, sharing the delirium of his confinement. In this film, he is not a talking head, he is a multiple body, overflowing. Half-man, half-spirit, Harley Prosper awaits only death. Sharing his fatal journey, we reach his state of trance.

Elena López Riera

Section:  Burning Lights
Length: 65'
Country: Mexico
Year: 2018
Language(s): English
Premiere status at VdR: International Premiere
VdR edition : 2018
VdR award(s) : Sesterce d'or Canton de Vaud, Meilleur film de la Compétition Burning Lights VdR2018

Production

Viana González Delgado  (Fragua Cine)
Juan Manuel Sepúlveda  (Fragua Cine)

Sales Contact

Viana González Delgado
Fragua Cine
vianagonzalez@gmail.com
Tel. +525551738479

Screenings

Language(s):  English
Subtitles:  French
  • Mo 16 April
  • 14:00
Capitole Leone

Followed by a discussion

  • Tu 17 April
  • 21:00
  • Sa 21 April
  • 14:00
Grande Salle (Salle Communale)

Rediffusion du meilleur film de la Compétition Burning Lights 2018 | Replay of the best film of the Burning Lights Competition 2018

La vida suspendida de Harley Prosper (Mexico)

The Still Life of Harley Prosper

La vida suspendida de Harley Prosper

  • Juan Manuel Sepúlveda

Synopsis

Enfant, Harley Prosper a été désigné comme « homme-médicinal », un rôle majeur pour la conscience spirituelle de sa communauté amérindienne, qui résiste à l’abandon de ses traditions ancestrales. Mais l’élu a fui son destin. Il a sombré dans l'alcool et se laisse désormais mourir à Vancouver, dans un hôpital pour malades en phase terminale.
Enfermé dans cet exil volontaire, Prosper défie l’esprit qui habite en lui, se confrontant aux voix intérieures qui lui rappellent constamment qu’il est impossible d’échapper à son destin, et encore moins, à son histoire.
La caméra filme les derniers jours de cet homme au pic de son délire. Juan Manuel Sepúlveda pousse le dispositif de l’interview jusqu’à l’extrême, interpellant toutes les voix et tous les hommes qui habitent dans l’esprit d’Harley Prosper, explorant chaque centimètre de sa peau, partageant le délire de son enfermement. Dans ce film, il n’est pas une tête parlante, il est un corps multiple, débordé. Moitié homme, moitié esprit, Harley Prosper n’attend que la mort. Partageant son parcours fatal, nous rejoignons son état de transe.

Elena López Riera

Section: Burning Lights
Durée: 65'
Pays: Mexique
Année: 2018
Langue(s): Anglais
Statut de première à VdR: International Premiere
Edition VdR: 2018

Production

Viana González Delgado (Fragua Cine)
Juan Manuel Sepúlveda (Fragua Cine)

Contact de vente

Viana González Delgado
Fragua Cine
vianagonzalez@gmail.com
Tél. +525551738479

Bande-annonce

Ouvrir en pop-up

Projections

Langue(s):  Anglais
Sous-titres :  Français
  • Lu 16 Avril
  • 14:00
Capitole Leone

Projection suivie d’un débat

  • Ma 17 Avril
  • 21:00
  • Sa 21 Avril
  • 14:00
Grande Salle (Salle Communale)

Rediffusion du meilleur film de la Compétition Burning Lights 2018 | Replay of the best film of the Burning Lights Competition 2018