Storie del dormiveglia (Italy)

Stories of the Half-Light

Storie del dormiveglia

  • Luca Magi

Synopsis

In Italian, “dormiveglia” designates that blurred state between wakefulness and sleep, in which it is difficult to distinguish dreams from reality. On the outskirts of an Italian town, homeless people are looked after at a night shelter. Rostoom is a suspended place: between its walls, there is no space, no time.
At night, around a fire or beneath weak electric lights, the voices of those who keep watch confide in Luca Magi’s camera, in an exercise of extreme intimacy where words become a form of ghostly reverie specific to “dormiveglia”. A polyphonic chant that gives a rhythm to the waiting of these individuals deprived of a future.
Stories of the Half-Light is a profoundly political film which, with militant dignity, looks at those who are habitually represented like skinny silhouettes, people without bodies or without names. Here, these men and women finally conquer a territory that belongs to them alone: that of dreams.

Elena López Riera

Length: 68'
Country: Italy
Year: 2018
Language(s): Italian
Premiere status at VdR: World Premiere
VdR edition : 2018
VdR award(s) : Mention Spéciale, Jury Interreligieux VdR2018

Production

Claudio Giapponesi  (Kiné Società Cooperativa)

Sales Contact

Claudio Giapponesi
Kiné
claudio@kine.it
Tel. +393315701223

Screenings

Language(s):  Italian
Subtitles:  English, French
  • Mo 16 April
  • 19:15
Grande Salle (Salle Communale)

Followed by a discussion

  • Tu 17 April
  • 12:30

Storie del dormiveglia (Italy)

Stories of the Half-Light

Storie del dormiveglia

  • Luca Magi

Synopsis

En italien, « dormiveglia » désigne cet état flou entre l’éveil et le sommeil, dans lequel il est difficile de distinguer le rêve de la réalité. Dans la périphérie d’une ville italienne, des personnes sans-abris sont accueillies dans un centre de nuit. Rostoom est un lieu suspendu : entre ses murs, il n’y a pas d’espace, pas de temps.
La nuit, près d’un feu ou sous de faibles lumières électriques, les voix de ceux qui veillent se confient à la caméra de Luca Magi, dans un exercice d’intimité extrême où la parole devient une forme de rêverie fantomatique propre à la « dormiveglia ». Un chant polyphonique qui rythme l’attente de ces individus privés d’avenir.
Stories of the Half-Light est un film profondément politique, qui regarde avec une dignité militante ceux qui sont habituellement représentés comme de maigres silhouettes, des gens sans corps, des gens sans noms. Ces hommes et ces femmes se réapproprient ici un territoire qui seul leur appartient : celui des rêves.

Elena López Riera

Durée: 68'
Pays: Italie
Année: 2018
Langue(s): Italien
Statut de première à VdR: World Premiere
Edition VdR: 2018
Prix à VdR: Mention Spéciale, Jury Interreligieux VdR2018

Production

Claudio Giapponesi (Kiné Società Cooperativa)

Contact de vente

Claudio Giapponesi
Kiné
claudio@kine.it
Tél. +393315701223

Bande-annonce

Ouvrir en pop-up

Projections

Langue(s):  Italien
Sous-titres :  Anglais, Français
  • Lu 16 Avril
  • 19:15
Grande Salle (Salle Communale)

Projection suivie d’un débat

  • Ma 17 Avril
  • 12:30