A vida aqui, está vista? (Portugal)

Life Out There Has It Been Seen?

A vida aqui, está vista?

  • Filipe Carvalho

Synopsis

Minas de São Domingos is a small village built on a mine in the Alentejo region of Portugal. Today, the mine, which in other times kept its neighbours in employment, is no longer operating. It is difficult to imagine a future for this slightly forgotten land, criss-crossed by ruins that bear witness to a happier era, and virtually abandoned by inhabitants forced to leave to find work elsewhere.
It’s summer, children play in the street, tourists camp next to the river, adults burst into traditional song in the ruins of the mine. Here, everything happens as a community, as if being together was the only possible answer to the question formulated by the film’s title: Life out There has it been seen?
Filipe Carvalho manages to capture in his film the sensation of time suspended between past and present, an almost imaginary time that sets the pace of life in the village. A fully conscious exercise in cinéma direct that observes daily life intelligently, a gesture that could explain the complex history of a territory.

Elena López Riera

Length: 30'
Country: Portugal
Year: 2018
Language(s): Portuguese
Premiere status at VdR: World Premiere
VdR edition: 2018

Production

Filipa Reis (Uma Pedra No Sapato)
João Miller Guerra (Uma Pedra No Sapato)

Sales Contact

Filipa Reis
Uma Pedra No Sapato
info.umapedranosapato@gmail.com
Tel. +351918027377

Screenings

Language(s):  Portuguese
Subtitles:  English, French
  • Sa 14 April
  • 16:15
Capitole Leone

Followed by a discussion

  • Su 15 April
  • 10:45

A vida aqui, está vista? (Portugal)

Life Out There Has It Been Seen?

A vida aqui, está vista?

  • Filipe Carvalho

Synopsis

Minas de São Domingos est un petit village construit sur une exploitation minière dans la région de l’Alentejo au Portugal. Aujourd’hui, la mine, qui à une autre époque donnait du travail à ses voisins, n’est plus en fonction. Difficile d’imaginer un avenir pour cette terre un peu oubliée, sillonnée par des ruines qui témoignent d’une époque plus heureuse, et quasi-abandonnée par des habitants forcés de partir pour trouver du travail ailleurs.
C’est l’été, les enfants jouent dans la rue, les touristes campent au bord du fleuve, les adultes entonnent des chants traditionnels sur les ruines de la mine. Ici, tout se fait en communauté, comme si être ensemble était la seule réponse possible à la question formulée par le titre du film : la vie existe-t-elle ici ?
Filipe Carvalho réussit à capter dans son film la sensation d’un temps suspendu entre le passé et le présent, un temps presque imaginaire, qui rythme la vie au village. Un exercice de cinéma direct complètement assumé qui observe avec perspicacité la vie quotidienne, un geste qui pourrait expliquer l’histoire complexe d’un territoire.

Elena López Riera

Durée: 30'
Pays: Portugal
Année: 2018
Langue(s): Portugais
Statut de première à VdR: World Premiere
Edition VdR: 2018

Production

Filipa Reis (Uma Pedra No Sapato)
João Miller Guerra (Uma Pedra No Sapato)

Contact de vente

Filipa Reis
Uma Pedra No Sapato
info.umapedranosapato@gmail.com
Tél. +351918027377

Projections

Langue(s):  Portugais
Sous-titres :  Anglais, Français
  • Sa 14 Avril
  • 16:15
Capitole Leone

Projection suivie d’un débat

  • Di 15 Avril
  • 10:45