A word from our partners

Visions du Réel is happily able to take place live again. La Mobilière is pleased to be continuing its commitment as main partner of the event for another three years.

This year’s festival is also special for another reason. As part of our commitment to young people, we have developed some joint projects with Visions du Réel. Two film design workshops will therefore be addressed at young people aged between 13 and 15, one on the fringes of the festival and the other during our Atelier du Futur summer camp. We are delighted about this new chapter of our shared history.

Michèle Rodoni
CEO
La Mobilière

 

The International Film Festival of Nyon, Visions du Réel, stands out as a place of exchange, reflection and emotion, bringing together professionals and enthusiasts around documentary cinema. It is an essential meeting place for anyone wishing to understand the world and its complex realities through the sharp eyes of filmmakers.

SSR and RTS, the festival’s historical partners, share this vocation. We are proud to contribute to documentary creation and to its influence, with special thanks to Play Suisse. The Swiss streaming platform is showcasing a rich collection of documentaries, including a selection Visions du réel labelled gems, which are now available for you to discover.

Gilles Marchand
Director general SRG SSR

Pascal Crittin
Director RTS

 

“Telling the story of reality in all its complexity”

We live in strange times: we are on the verge of emerging from an unprecedented pandemic and we can finally get back to that strange and delightful ritual that is cinema: sitting comfortably in a dark room and letting ourselves be carried away by the light of the projector that imprints a story on our eyes.
Yet at the same time, war erupts on our screens, disruptively delivering the violence of a new conflict on Europe’s doorstep.
It is at moments like these that we measure the importance of the documentary approach, its long duration, its humanism and its desire to tell the story of reality in all its complexity. In this context, Visions du Réel is becoming an increasingly important and necessary festival.

Cesla Amarelle
State Councillor

 

Always with innovative ideas and a pioneering spirit 

The partnership between Visions du Réel and the Swiss Agency for Development and Cooperation (SDC) has existed for 20 years. During that period, the festival has developed considerably, always with innovative ideas and a pioneering spirit. Not only has it become a meeting place for professional documentary filmmakers from all over the world, but Visions du Réel has also been flexible and quick to transition to the hybrid or digital. New spaces have opened up in the virtual world, but the old ones remain. That is why we are looking forward to personal exchanges in Nyon and the opportunity to watch documentaries together with other fans. Many thanks for the good partnership and the great commitment to filmmakers from the South and East. This year as well, we are looking forward to a programme that will transport us into new realities.

Patricia Danzi
Director General
Swiss Agency for Development and Cooperation SDC

 

The Visions du Réel festival has been exploring documentary film – and the fine line between fiction and reality – for more than 50 years now, building a reputation as one of the leading festivals of its kind in Europe. It has become a key event for the industry, featuring an ambitious programme that draws very diverse audiences. Having organised two exciting online editions because of the pandemic, we will once again be able to gather in person for the 2022 event. Film festivals are important sites of discussion and debate about the state of the world – and the filmmakers who focus on reality make an especially vital contribution to this dialogue. Their unique view on the world today has become more important than ever.

Alain Berset
Conseiller fédéral

Wort der Partner

Visions du Réel kann wieder als Präsenzveranstaltung stattfinden – welch eine Freude!

Die Mobiliar freut sich, ihr Engagement als Hauptpartnerin des Festivals für weitere drei Jahre fortzuführen. Die diesjährige Ausgabe ist aber auch aus einem anderen Grund besonders. Im Rahmen unseres Engagements für Jugendliche haben wir mit Visions du Réel gemeinsame Projekte entwickelt. So bieten wir Jugendlichen zwischen 13 und 15 Jahren zwei Filmworkshops an, einer am Rande des Festivals, der andere während unseres Sommercamps «Atelier du Futur». Wir freuen uns sehr auf dieses neue Kapitel in unserer gemeinsamen Geschichte.

Michèle Rodoni
CEO
Die Mobiliar

 

Visions du Réel ist ein Ort des Austausches, der Reflexion und der Emotionen, der Fachleute und Enthusiast*innen rund um den kreativen Dokumentarfilm zusammenbringt. Das internationale Filmfestival von Nyon ist ein unumgängliches Treffen für alle, die die Welt und ihre komplexen Realitäten durch die aufmerksamen Augen von Filmemacherinnen und Filmemachern betrachten wollen.

Die SRG und RTS, die historischen Partner des Festivals, teilen diese Berufung. Wir sind stolz darauf, zum Dokumentarfilmschaffen und seiner Verbreitung beizutragen, insbesondere dank Play Suisse. Die Schweizer Streaming-Plattform erweist dem Dokumentarfilm mit einer vielfältigen Sammlung die Ehre, namentlich mit der Selektion Visions du Réel, die es ab sofort zu entdecken gilt.

Gilles Marchand
Generaldirektor SRG SSR

Pascal Crittin
Direktor RTS

 

Canton de Vaud

«Die Realität in ihrer ganzen Komplexität erzählen»

Wir leben in seltsamen Zeiten: Wir stehen kurz davor, eine beispiellose Pandemie zu überwinden. Endlich können wir uns wieder diesem seltsamen und köstlichen Ritual hingeben, bei dem wir es uns in einem dunklen Kinosaal gemütlich machen und in das Licht einer Erzählung eintauchen, die sich auf unserer Netzhaut einbrennt.

Gleichzeitig flutet der Krieg unsere Bildschirme und wir blicken fassungslos auf die Gewalt eines neuen Konflikts vor den Toren Europas.

In solchen Momenten erkennen wir die Bedeutung des Dokumentarfilms, seine Ausdauer, seinen Humanismus und seinen Willen, die Realität in ihrer ganzen Komplexität zu erzählen. In diesem Kontext wird Visions du Réel zu einem immer unverzichtbareren und notwendigeren Festival.

Cesla Amarelle
Staatsrätin

 

Office fédéral de la culture OFC

Stets mit innovativen Ideen und Pioniergeist

Seit 20 Jahren besteht die Partnerschaft zwischen Visions du Réel und der Direktion für Entwicklung und Zusammenarbeit DEZA. Das Festival hat sich seitdem stark weiterent­wickelt, stets mit innovativen Ideen und Pioniergeist. Nicht nur ist es zum Branchentreffpunkt für professionelle Dokumentarfilmer:innen aus aller Welt geworden, auch bei der Umstellung ins Hybride bzw. Digitale ist Visions du Réel flexibel und rasch vorausgegangen. Neue Räume haben sich in der virtuellen Welt aufgetan, doch die alten bleiben bestehen. Deshalb freuen wir uns auf den persönlichen Austausch in Nyon und darauf, Dokumentarfilme gemeinsam mit anderen Fans schauen zu können. Herzlichen Dank für die gute Partnerschaft und das grosse Engagement für Filmemacher:innen aus dem Süden und Osten. Wir sind auch dieses Jahr gespannt auf ein Programm, das uns in neue Realitäten versetzt.

Patricia Danzi
Direktorin
Direktion für Entwicklung und Zusammenarbeit DEZA

 

Office fédéral de la culture OFC

Seit mehr als 50 Jahren widmet sich das Festival Visions du Réel dem Dokumentarfilm und lotet die feine Grenze zwischen Fiktion und Realität aus. Damit hat es sich als eines der renommiertesten Festivals dieses Genres in Europa etabliert. Mit seinem anspruchsvollen Programm zieht es nicht nur ein vielfältiges Publikum an, sondern gilt auch für die Branche als einer der wichtigsten Treffpunkte des Jahres. Nachdem die letzten beiden Ausgaben pandemiebedingt erfolgreich in den virtuellen Raum verlegt wurden, verspricht die 53. Ausgabe von Visions du Réel nun wieder Veranstaltungen in Nyon. Filmfestivals sind wichtige Orte der Begegnung und der Debatte über die Welt. Dazu leisten Dokumentarfilmerinnen und Dokumentarfilmer einen besonders wertvollen Beitrag. Diese Einordnung des aktuellen Geschehens scheint heute nötiger denn je.

Alain Berset
Conseiller fédéral