Lanterne Magique 2018 >

Documentary film is second to none in terms of approaching the mysteries of music. Via a montage of marvellously telling film excerpts, children and adults alike will be all ears and wide-eyed together for this unique cinematic exploration. 

Whether we love it or hate it, whether we play it, hum it or dance to it, music is, at any age, a source of founding emotions, fabulous bonds, unforgettable intensities… At its highest standard, film has this “magic” power to reveal its action that is invisible yet so powerful.

Designed and presented as an exclusive by La Lanterne Magique for Visions du Réel, the montage of excerpts summoning films from every age and from all over the world is subdivided into several chapters: “Listen”, “Learn”, “Sing” , “Dance”, etc.. Its screening will be followed by the premiere of the short film On s'accorde? by Marie-Ève Hildbrand and Andreas Fontana, made in an intergenerational workshop that brought together juniors and seniors with a passion for music. A collaboration between La Lanterne Magique, Pro Senectute Vaud and Visions du Réel, with the precious support of the Fondation Leenaards.

Saturday 14 April 2018, 9:30, Théâtre de Marens. Tickets on-site only. More info >


Lanterne Magique 2017 >

Animated documentary filmmaking is booming. Some consider it to be a genre intended for adults. Under the title Ani doc doc, a programme of twelve short films, carefully selected by La Lanterne Magique film club for children, fully intends to show the opposite, namely that anidoc, as the specialists call it, can constitute an impressive means of awareness of oneself, of others and of the world for young people.

Travel journals, children’s dreams, an autistic little brother, the stress of working in a large restaurant, the visions of blind cyclists, the entirely pacifistic tracking of the fascinating woolly tapir… Little ones and grown-ups alike will make the most of these dives into the real to which animation adds an undeniable emotional, poetic or humorous dimension!

This pioneering exploration will be preceded by the première of the short film made during an intergenerational workshop bringing together children and adults. A collaboration between La Lanterne Magique, Pro Senectute Vaud and Visions du Réel, with the precious support of the Fondation Leenaards.
Tickets >


Lanterne Magique 2016

Documentary films for the whole family! An exploration of the history of film and sound effects with Heidi chez le bruiteur by Christian Frei, followed by a short film made before the Festival during an intergenerational workshop bringing together children and adults. A collaboration between La Lanterne Magique, Pro Senectute Vaud and Visions du Réel, with the precious support of the Fondation Leenaards.


In collaboration with

With the generous support of

La Lanterne Magique 2018 >

Le Cinéma du Réel n'a pas son pareil pour approcher le mystère de la musique. Via un montage d'extraits de films merveilleusement révélateurs, petits et grands seront tout ouïe et yeux grands ouverts pour accomplir une ciné-exploration inédite. 

Qu'on l'aime ou la déteste, qu'on en joue, la fredonne ou la danse, la musique est à tout âge source d'émotions fondatrices, de complicités fabuleuses, d'intensités inoubliables… Quand il est à son meilleur niveau, le cinéma a ce pouvoir «magique» d'en dévoiler l'action invisible mais combien agissante.  

Ce montage d'extraits sera suivi de la première du court-métrage de Marie-Ève Hildbrand et Andreas Fontana, réalisé dans le cadre d'un atelier intergénérationnel qui a réuni des juniors et des seniors passionnés de musique. Une collaboration entre La Lanterne Magique, Pro Senectute Vaud et Visions du Réel, avec le précieux soutien de la Fondation Leenaards.

Samedi 14 avril 2018, 9:30, Théâtre de Marens. Billets sur place uniquement. Plus d'infos >


La Lanterne Magique 2017 >

Le cinéma d'animation documentaire a le vent en poupe. D'aucuns le considèrent comme un genre destiné aux adultes. Sous l'intitulé Ani doc doc, un programme de douze courts métrages soigneusement sélectionnés par le club de cinéma pour enfants La Lanterne Magique entend bien démontrer le contraire, à savoir que l'anidoc, comme la nomment les spécialistes, peut constituer pour les plus jeunes un formidable moyen de connaissance de soi, des autres et du monde.

Carnets de voyages, rêves d'enfants, petit frère autiste, stress du service dans un grand restaurant, visions de cyclistes aveugles, traque toute pacifiste du fascinant tapir Pinchaque... Petits et grands feront leur miel de ces plongées dans le réel auxquelles l’animation ajoute une dimension émotionnelle, poétique ou humoristique indéniable!  

Pionnière, cette exploration sera précédée de la première du court métrage réalisé lors de l'atelier intergénérationnel réunissant très jeunes et moins jeunes. Une collaboration entre La Lanterne Magique, Pro Senectute Vaud et Visions du Réel, avec le précieux soutien de la Fondation Leenaards. | Billets >


La Lanterne Magique 2016

Des seniors et des juniors ont été invités à raviver ensemble leurs premiers souvenirs «grand écran», histoire de prouver que les émotions cinématographiques n’ont pas d’âge et qu’elles nous relient à travers les films et les générations de la façon la plus vivante! Tourné pendant les vacances de Pâques, le court métrage très joueur résultant de cet atelier est projeté en première dans le cadre de la séance labellisée « Lanterne Magique ».
Bâti autour du court métrage Heidi chez le bruiteur de Christian Frei, une petite leçon de cinéma qui voit la dernière incarnation de l’héroïne de Johanna Spyri bruiter sa devancière des années 1950, le programme de cette séance de Visions du Réel, au concept inédit, va explorer notre ciné-mémoire du réel, en partant des frères Lumière pour remonter jusqu’à nous.


En collaboration avec

Grâce au généreux soutien de