Alain Cavalier – Maître du Réel 2017


Alain Fraissé, known as Alain Cavalier, was born on 14 September 1931 in Vendôme (France). His childhood is marked by Catholic studies as well as three years spent in Tunisia, where his father worked as a high-level civil servant. He goes to the Sorbonne to study history and later graduates from the Institut des Hautes Études Cinématographiques. While working as Louis Malle's assistant on Ascenseur pour l'échafaud (1957) and Les Amants (1958), he filmed his first short film, Un Américain, in 1958.

Note Six Portaits XL: Portrait n°6 Léon

Alain Cavalier goes on to film Le Combat dans l'île (1962) with Romy Schneider, and then L'Insoumis (1964) with Alain Delon. Because of the political content of these films and their classic style, they remain apart from the Nouvelle Vague, the style of the 60s. Following their lack of success, Cavalier opts for thrillers with Mise à sac (1967) and then La Chamade (1968), starring Catherine Deneuve and Michel Piccoli. After eight years of silence due to his rejection of the thriller film genre, he returns to directing with a group of friends and with more modest means. Le Plein de super and Ce répondeur ne prend pas de message, both filmed in 1976, definitively mark an end to this difficult period. Un Etrange Voyage (1980) is awarded the Prix Louis-Delluc in 1981. Thérèse (1986), wins the Cannes Jury Prize and marks the beginning of a new artistic period followed by Libera Me (1993). The film revisits the political issues he addressed at the beginning of his career: resistance to oppression, terrorism and torture. Filmed alone, without a crew, La Rencontre (1996) is the fruit of an approach initiated by the two films: Portraits (1987 and 1990), filmed with a small DV camera, which enables him to have a new and lighter approach. He later uses this technique in Vies (2000), René (2002) and the video diary he had been developing for ten years, Le Filmeur (2004). In it, Cavalier appears as a commentator-actor of a story he is living and constructing at the same time. In 2011, Pater with Vincent Lindon is presented at the Cannes Festival where it receives with a standing ovation. 

The French director has been a frequent guest of Visions du Réel: for an Atelier at the Festival in 2004, and then regularly present throughout the years with various films. Alain Cavalier comes back this year to receive the Sesterce d'or Prix Raiffeisen Maître du Réel 2017, and to present his Six Portraits XL as world premieres during the Festival.

Filmography


Six Portraits XL, 2017

Le Caravage, 2015

Le Paradis, 2014

Pater, 2010

Irène, 2009

Les Braves, 2008

Lieux Saints, 2007

Lettre à Joseph Morder, 2006

Bonnard, 2006

Le Filmeur, 2005

René, 2002



Vies, 2000

Georges de la Tour, 1997

La Rencontre, 1996

Libera Me, 1993

Portraits d'Alain Cavalier, 1990

Portraits d'Alain Cavalier, 1987

Thérèse, 1986

La Lettre d'un cinéaste, 1982

Un étrange voyage, 1981

Louis XV et le Petit Trianon, 1979

Napoléon III et Compiègne, 1979



La Malmaison, 1979

Ce répondeur ne prend pas de messages, 1978

Martin et Léa, 1978

Le Plein de super, 1976

La Chamade, 1968

Mise à sac, 1967

L'Insoumis, 1964

Le Combat dans l'île, 1962

Un Américain, 1958


All Maître du Réel Films at Visions du Réel 2017 >
Masterclass 2017 >


Find Maître du Réel Masterclasses and interviews of guest filmmakers from previous years >

Alain Cavalier – Maître du Réel 2017


Alain Fraissé, dit Alain Cavalier, est né le 14 septembre 1931 à Vendôme (France). Son enfance est marquée par une éducation catholique, ainsi que trois années passées en Tunisie, où son père est haut fonctionnaire. Il s'inscrit à la Sorbonne où il étudie l'histoire, avant d'entrer à l'Institut des Hautes Études Cinématographiques dont il sort diplômé. Assistant de Louis Malle sur Ascenseur pour l'échafaud (1957) et Les Amants (1958), il tourne son premier court-métrage Un Américain en 1958.

Note Six Portaits XL: Portrait n°6 Léon

Alain Cavalier tourne Le Combat dans l'île (1962) avec Romy Schneider, puis L'Insoumis (1964) avec Alain Delon. Leur contenu politique et leur facture classique le tiennent en marge de la Nouvelle Vague des années 60. Devant leur relatif insuccès, Cavalier opte pour le polar: Mise à sac (1967) puis La Chamade (1968), interprété par Catherine Deneuve et Michel Piccoli. Après huit ans de silence liés au rejet d'un certain genre de cinéma, il retourne à la caméra avec une bande de copains et des moyens plus modestes. Ce sont Le Plein de super et Ce répondeur ne prend pas de message, tournés en 1976, qui closent définitivement une période difficile. Un Etrange Voyage (1980) reçoit le prix Louis-Delluc en 1981. Avec Thérèse (1986), Prix du Jury à Cannes, s'ouvre une nouvelle période artistique qui se poursuit avec Libera Me (1993). Ce film renoue avec les questions politiques des débuts: la résistance à l'oppression, le terrorisme, la torture. Tourné seul et sans équipe, La Rencontre (1996) est l'aboutissement d'une démarche inaugurée par les deux séries de Portraits (1987 and 1990), mais filmé avec une petite caméra DV qui lui permet une légèreté nouvelle. Il mettra cette technique à profit pour Vies (2000), René (2002), et le journal vidéo qu'il tient depuis plus de dix ans, Le Filmeur (2004). Cavalier y apparaît comme commentateur-acteur d'une histoire qu'il vit et reconstruit en même temps. Pater (2011) avec Vincent Lindon est présenté au Festival de Cannes où il est reçu avec une standing ovation.

Le réalisateur français est un habitué de Visions du Réel: invité d'honneur pour un Atelier durant le Festival en 2004, régulièrement présent au fil des éditions avec ses films. Alain Cavalier revient cette année pour recevoir le Prix Raiffeisen Maître du Réel 2017, et présente au Festival en première mondiale ses Six Portraits XL.

Filmographie


Six Portraits XL, 2017

Le Caravage, 2015

Le Paradis, 2014

Pater, 2010

Irène, 2009

Les Braves, 2008

Lieux Saints, 2007

Lettre à Joseph Morder, 2006

Bonnard, 2006

Le Filmeur, 2005

René, 2002



Vies, 2000

Georges de la Tour, 1997

La Rencontre, 1996

Libera Me, 1993

Portraits d'Alain Cavalier, 1990

Portraits d'Alain Cavalier, 1987

Thérèse, 1986

La Lettre d'un cinéaste, 1982

Un étrange voyage, 1981

Louis XV et le Petit Trianon, 1979

Napoléon III et Compiègne, 1979



La Malmaison, 1979

Ce répondeur ne prend pas de messages, 1978

Martin et Léa, 1978

Le Plein de super, 1976

La Chamade, 1968

Mise à sac, 1967

L'Insoumis, 1964

Le Combat dans l'île, 1962

Un Américain, 1958

Retrouvez les vidéos des Masterclass des réalisateurs invités dans le cadre du Prix Maître du Réel des années précédentes >