Les Ateliers 2017

This year, two directors are the guests of the Ateliers: Stéphane Breton, anthropologist and French filmmaker, and the Italian Gianfranco Rosi, winner of many prestigious prizes, whose work will be presented by his editor Jacopo Quadri. The festival-goers will have the unique opportunity to discover their universe and way of working during two Masterclass.


Stéphane Breton

Stéphane Breton was born in 1959 in Paris. He lived several years in the mountains of New Guinea to do is job as an anthropologist. He found there barefoot people, armed with bows, whose language, humor, greed and disputes he has learned. From that he makes his first film, Eux et moi (2001), in which, watched by the ones he's watching, he endorses the role of the "good savage". See and be seen will become the thread of his next films shot in the streets of Paris (Le monde extérieur, 2007), in Kirghizstan (Un été silencieux, 2005), in New Mexico (La maison vide, 2008), or in the Siberian Russia (Quelques jours ensemble, 2012, and Les forêts sombres, 2014).

The French filmmaker Stéphane Breton made waves in visual anthropology in 2001, exploding the pseudo-neutrality of ethnographical observation with his film Eux et moi, shot with the Wodani people in New Guinea. Since this rebellious film, the trained philosopher has continually observed the specific way those in remote parts of the world experience the concept of time. His work is a profound reflection on the art of looking at others and, thus, at oneself.

Gianfranco Rosi

Gianfranco Rosi was born in 1964 in Asmara (then in Ethiopia, now in Eritrea). He moves to New York in 1985, where he later graduates from the New York University Film School. Following a trip to India, he produces and directs his first medium-length film, Boatman (1993), presented at several international festivals. In 2008, the filmmaker wins the Prix Horizons and Doc/it for his first feature film, Below Sea Level at the Venice Film Festival, and the Golden Lion in 2013 for Sacro GRA. The film thus becomes the first feature documentary to be its holder. In 2016, Rosi goes on to win the Golden Bear at the Berlin International Film Festival and is nominated both at the Oscars 2017 and the César 2017 for his documentary Fuocoammare.

These prizes are clearly a confirmation of a body of work that has successfully reached the eyes and hearts of the public all over the world. A prestigious guest, loyal to Visions du Réel: he came to Nyon in 2012 to present Sacro GRA, which was still at the project phase. El Sicario, Room 164 and Fuocoammare were screened in 2011 and 2016, respectively.

Gianfranco Rosi Masterclass held by
Jacopo Quadri

Wednesday 26 April 10:00, Usine à Gaz >

Jacopo Quadri is the most prominent Italian editor working today. Stepping in the footsteps of legendary professionals such as Eraldo da Roma, Mario Serandrei, Kim Arcalli and Nino Baragli, masters and stalwarts of the Italian editing tradition, Quadri started working in the 90s. With almost one hundred films to his credit, equally divided between fiction and documentary, he has developed an unmistakable editing style. Sought after by the most innovative Italian directors such as Mario Martone and Pippo Delbono, he worked also with Apichatpong Weerasethakul on Tropical Malady. His most important and defining professional relationship began in 1993, when he edited Boatman, a small black and white documentary shot in India on 35 mm by Gianfranco Rosi. From that film on, Quadri and Rosi solidified a professional bond that Rosi himself dubbed as "method editing". Over a time-span of almost 25 years, Jacopo Quadri has edited all of Gianfranco Rosi’s films. Quadri will be leading Rosi’s Masterclass at Visions du Réel and will share his experiences with the audience. A unique opportunity to meet one of the most talented and creative professional working in contemporary cinema today.

Find Ateliers Masterclasses and interviews of guest filmmakers from previous years >

Les Ateliers 2017

Cette année, deux réalisateurs sont les invités des Ateliers: Stéphane Breton, ethnologue et cinéaste français, et l'italien Gianfranco Rosi, lauréat de nombreux prix prestigieux, dont l'œuvre sera présentée par son monteur Jacopo Quadri. L'occasion unique de découvrir leur univers et mode de travail lors de deux Masterclass.


Stéphane Breton

Stéphane Breton est né en 1959 à Paris. Il vit plusieurs années dans les montagnes de Nouvelle-Guinée pour faire son métier d'ethnologue. Il trouve là-bas des gens pieds nus, armés d'arcs, dont il a appris la langue, l'humour, la cupidité et les disputes. Il en tire un premier film, Eux et moi (2001), dans lequel, observé par ceux qu'il regarde, c'est lui qui endosse le rôle du « bon sauvage » de naguère. Voir et être vu vont devenir le fil conducteur de ses films suivants tournés, à Paris en bas de chez lui (Le monde extérieur, 2007), au Kirghizstan (Un été silencieux, 2005), au Nouveau-Mexique (La maison vide, 2008), ou encore en Russie sibérienne (Quelques jours ensemble, 2012, et Les forêts sombres, 2014).

Le cinéaste français Stéphane Breton jette un pavé dans la marre de l'anthropologie visuelle en 2001, dynamitant la pseudo-neutralité de l'observation ethnographique avec son film Eux et moi, tourné avec les Wodanis de Nouvelle-Guinée. Depuis ce film frondeur, le philosophe de formation n'a eu de cesse d'observer l'expérience propre du temps de celles et ceux qui habitent dans les recoins du monde. Son travail est une réflexion profonde sur l'art de porter un regard sur les autres, et donc sur soi-même.

Gianfranco Rosi

Gianfranco Rosi est né en 1964 à Asmara (alors en Ethiopie, désormais en Érythrée). Il s'établit en 1985 à New York où il sort diplômé de la New York University Film School. À la suite d'un voyage en Inde, il produit et dirige son premier moyen métrage, Boatman (1993), présenté dans plusieurs festivals internationaux. Le cinéaste remporte en 2008 à la Mostra de Venise les Prix Horizons et Doc/It pour son premier long métrage, Below Sea Level, et le Lion d'or en 2013 pour Sacro GRA. Le film devient ainsi le premier long métrage documentaire à en être le détenteur. Rosi remporte en 2016 l'Ours d'or à la Berlinale et est nominé aux Oscars 2017 ainsi qu'aux César 2017 pour son documentaire Fuocoammare.

Ces nombreux prix sont la confirmation évidente d'un travail qui a su toucher les yeux et le coeur d'un public du monde entier. Un invité de marque fidèle à Visions du Réel: il est venu à Nyon présenter en 2012 Sacro GRA, alors encore en phase de projet, ainsi que ses films El Sicario, Room 164 et Fuocoammare, projetés respectivement en 2011 et 2016.

Masterclass sur Gianfranco Rosi tenue par
Jacopo Quadri

Mercredi 26 avril 10:00, Usine à Gaz >

Jacopo Quadri est aujourd’hui le monteur italien le plus influent. Il se place dans la lignée des plus célèbres monteurs qui ont marqué l’histoire du cinéma italien tels que Eraldo da Roma, Mario Serandrei, Kim Arcalli et Nino Baragli. Quadri a fait ses débuts dans les années 90 et avec une filmographie comprenant presque une centaine de titres entre documentaires et fictions, il a développé une véritable pratique du montage. Il a collaboré avec les cinéastes italiens les plus innovants comme Mario Martone et Pippo Delbono, ainsi que des réalisateurs internationaux majeurs comme Apichatpong Weerasethakul sur le film Tropical Malady. Sa rencontre avec Gianfranco Rosi marque un moment déterminant de sa carrière. Leur collaboration commence en 1993 lorsque Quadri monte Boatman, un documentaire en noir et blanc tourné en Inde en 35mm. Ce film fut le point de départ d’un travail à deux que Rosi qualifie de "method-editing". Sur une période de presque 25 ans, Jacopo Quadri a monté tous les films de Rosi. Le monteur présente la Masterclass Gianfranco Rosi à Visions du Réel et partagera son expérience avec le public. Cette Masterclass sera une occasion unique de rencontrer l’un des plus talentueux professionnels du cinéma contemporain.

Retrouvez les Masterclass et interviews des réalisateurs invités dans le cadre des Ateliers des années précédentes >