VdR-Industry announces its Awards

The VdR-Industry Awards 2021 were announced this evening. The ceremony took place as a hybrid event in Nyon and on the VdR-Industry online platform. With its numerous prizes and grants, VdR-Industry and its partners once again reaffirm their determination to support independent documentary filmmaking in all its diversity.

Since 15 years, Visions du Réel’s industry activities aim to underline and exalt the variety and richness of creative documentaries while providing precious networking opportunities.

Acting as the Festival’s professional hub, VdR–Industry is designed as a springboard for projects, facilitating both national and international collaborations and long-term partnerships between the projects’ representatives and the professionals attending the industry events.

VdR–Industry runs from April 14 to April 22, both online and in person.


VdR–Pitching Jury

Roberto Minervini, Director, Italy/USA

Roberto Olla, Executive Director Eurimages, France

Rasha Salti, Independent film and visual arts curator, Commissioning editor for La Lucarne Arte, Lebanon/France/Germany

VdR–Pitching Award

5’000 CHF in cash for the most promising project

Science Fiction

Ezequiel Yanco, director

Ana Godoy, Ezquiel Yanco, Isoi Cine, producers Argentina

The Party Film Sales Award

Acquisition of international rights

King Coal
Elaine McMillion Sheldon, director Shane Boris, Cottage M, producer United States

RTS Award

Pre-buy of one film

Yoga Village
Rongfei Guo, director
Wenxin Zhong, Galaxion Films LLC., producer China

HEAD–Genève Postproduction Award

Colour grading and creation of the files for diffusion

Yoga Village
Rongfei Guo, director
Wenxin Zhong, Galaxion Films LLC., producer China

Cannes Docs Award

Two accreditations for the filmma- ker and producer to attend the Marché du Film – Festival de Cannes and participate in Cannes Docs

The Last Year of Darkness
Ben Mullinkosson, director Sol Ye, Florence, producer China, United States

Thessaloniki Documentary Festival Award

Accreditation and accommodation to TDF and access to AGORA for one person

But Dear Lord Why?
Rati Tsiteladze, director
Olga Slusareva, Nino Varsimashvili, Rati Tsiteladze, ArtWay Film, producers, Georgia

DOK Leipzig/DOK Industry Networking Award

Accreditation and accommodation at DOK Leipzig & observer access to the DOK Co-Pro Market for the filmmaker and producer

Tana Gilbert, director
Paola Castillo, Errante, producer Chile

VdR–Work in Progress

VdR–Work in Progress Jury

Roberto Minervini, Director, Italy/USA

Rasha Salti, Independent film and visual arts curator, Commissioning editor for La Lucarne Arte, Lebanon/France/Germany

VdR–Work in Progress Award

3’000 CHF in cash for the most promising project

Joris Lachaise, director
Line Peyron, Mujo, producer Guillermo Quintero, Romeo, producer France, Colombia

Lightdox Award

3’000 CHF in cash for the project with highest international potential

Blue Island
Chan Tze Woon, director
Catherine Chan, Peter Yam, Blue Island Production Company, producers Hong Kong SAR China, Japan

Raggioverde Subtitling Award

Subtitle creation incl. translation in one language

Another Spring
Mladen Kovačević, director
Iva Plemić Divjak, Horopter Film Production, producer Serbia

EFM Award

2 Market Badges for the EFM and a consultations session at the Doc- salon

About Everything There Is To Know
Sofía Velázquez, director
Carolina Denegri, Mercado Central Asociación Cultural, producer Peru

DAE Encouragement Award

2x memberships for the network plus 4 free consultations with network members, tailored to the needs of the project

The Home
Jessie Zinn, Chase Musslewhite, directors
Jessie Zinn, Chase Musslewhite, Red Coat Films, producers South Africa, United States

Freestudios Award

Creation of a DCP package

We, Students!
Rafiki Fariala, director
Daniele Incalcaterra, Boris Lojkine, Makongo Films, producers Central African Republic, France, Congo – Kinshasa

visions sud est Award 2021

International Jury

Sebastiano Conforti, Distributor at Outside the Box, Programmer FIFF Fribourg International Film Festival, Switzerland

Daniela Persico, Film Critic, Programmer Locarno Film Festival, Italy

Meret Ruggle, Director, Trigon-Film, Switzerland

visions sud est Award

10’000 CHF in cash for the best project from the South (Africa, Latin America and Asia) or from Eastern Europe (excluding EU members)

The Vanishing
Rama Thiaw, director
Yanis Gaye & Rama Thiaw, Boul Fallé Images, producer Jean-Laurent Csinidis, Films de Force Majeure, producer Senegal, France

Opening Scenes Awards

IDFA Spotlight Award

The winning director will be invited to IDFA’s next edition to participate in a tailor-made programme within the IDFA Industry

Don’t Hesitate to Come for a Visit, Mom
Anna Artemyeva, director
Belgium, Hungary, Portugal, Russia

TËNK Award

Purchase of distribution rights for one film of the Opening Scenes section and an editing residency at the Documentary Village of Lussas (France) for the filmmaker of the awarded film

Seeking Aline

Rokhaya Marieme Blade, director Switzerland, Senegal

Elisa Gómez Alvarez

META Cultural Foundation Award

The winner will be invited to a creative residency in Slon (Romania)

Not Over Yet
Monise Nicodemos, director Brazil