Storie del dormiveglia (Italy)

Stories of the Half-Light

Storie del dormiveglia

  • Luca Magi

Synopsis

In Italian, “dormiveglia” designates that blurred state between wakefulness and sleep, in which it is difficult to distinguish dreams from reality. On the outskirts of an Italian town, homeless people are looked after at a night shelter. Rostoom is a suspended place: between its walls, there is no space, no time.
At night, around a fire or beneath weak electric lights, the voices of those who keep watch confide in Luca Magi’s camera, in an exercise of extreme intimacy where words become a form of ghostly reverie specific to “dormiveglia”. A polyphonic chant that gives a rhythm to the waiting of these individuals deprived of a future.
Stories of the Half-Light is a profoundly political film which, with militant dignity, looks at those who are habitually represented like skinny silhouettes, people without bodies or without names. Here, these men and women finally conquer a territory that belongs to them alone: that of dreams.

Elena López Riera

Length: 68'
Country: Italy
Year: 2018
Language(s): Italian
Premiere status at VdR: World Premiere
VdR edition : 2018
VdR award(s) : Mention Spéciale, Jury Interreligieux VdR2018

Production

Claudio Giapponesi  (Kiné Società Cooperativa)

Sales Contact

Claudio Giapponesi
Kiné
claudio@kine.it
Tel. +393315701223

Screenings

Language(s):  Italian
Subtitles:  English, French
  • Mo 16 April
  • 19:15
Grande Salle (Salle Communale)

Followed by a discussion

  • Tu 17 April
  • 12:30

Storie del dormiveglia (Italy)

Stories of the Half-Light

Storie del dormiveglia

  • Luca Magi

Synopsis

Auf Italienisch bezeichnet «dormiveglia» den diffusen Zustand zwischen Wachen und Schlafen, in dem die Unterscheidung von Traum und Wirklichkeit schwierig ist. Im Randgebiet einer italienischen Stadt werden Wohnungslose in einer Nachtunterkunft aufgenommen. Rostoom ist ein schwebender Ort: In seinen Mauern gibt es weder Zeit noch Raum.
Nachts vertrauen sich an einem Feuer oder im schwachen Kunstlicht die Stimmen der Wachenden unter Bedingungen der extremen Nähe, die das Wort zu einer Form des dem «dormiveglia» eigenen geisterhaften Traums werden lassen, Luca Magis Kamera an. Ein polyphoner Gesang, der dem Warten dieser einer Zukunft beraubten Menschen den Rhythmus gibt.
Stories of the Half-Light ist ein zutiefst politischer Film, der diejenigen, die üblicherweise als magere Silhouetten, körperlose Menschen ohne Namen, dargestellt werden, mit militanter Würde erfasst. Diese Männer und Frauen erobern sich ein Territorium zurück, das allein ihnen gehört: Den Traum.

Elena López Riera

Länge: 68'
Land: Italy
Jahr: 2018
Sprache(n): Italienisch
VdR Premierenstatus: World Premiere
VdR Ausgabe: 2018

Produktion

Claudio Giapponesi (Kiné Società Cooperativa)

Verkaufskontakte

Claudio Giapponesi
Kiné
claudio@kine.it
Tél. +393315701223

Vorführungen

Sprache(n):  Italienisch
Untertitel:  Englisch, Französisch
  • Mo 16. April
  • 19:15
Grande Salle (Salle Communale)

Mit anschliessender Debatte

  • Di 17. April
  • 12:30