Jury Compétition Internationale moyens et courts métrages 2016


Safia Benhaim

Safia Benhaim was born in Paris, to Moroccan communist political refugees. During her studies at the École nationale supérieure des Arts Décoratifs in Paris, she worked at Vertigo magazine, writing articles on Kyoshi Kurosawa, Philippe Garrel, Marguerite Duras, etc. She directed her first film, L'Arrière-pays, in 2009, and then La Fièvre, in 2014. These two medium-length films, somewhere between political documentaries and tales of fantasy, evoke the way in which the experience of exile comes to haunt the perception of the real, by conflating physical with mental territory. She also creates installations (L'Atlantide, 2011) and performances mixing film and music (Last Things, 2013). L'Arrière-Pays was awarded the Grand Prix at the Côté court festival in 2011; La Fièvre, screened at many international festivals (Entrevues Belfort; Jeonju Festival in South Korea; Locarno; Viennale, etc.), won the Tiger Award for Short Film at the International Film Festival Rotterdam in 2015. Currently, she is working on a new film, on the theme of hunting – a documentary teetering towards the unreal, where the focus will once again be haunted territory.

Emmanuel Cuénod

A journalist by training, Emmanuel Cuénod was a film critic for the daily paper La Tribune de Genève for ten years. He was also co-editor in-chief of the professional Swiss film review, Cinébulletin, and has regularly contributed as a film commentator on the airwaves of La Première and RTS. Executive and Artistic Director of the Geneva International Film Festival Tous Ecrans since 2013, Emmanuel Cuénod has also worked as a producer for Genevan production company Rita Productions. His System Error (y2k) project won the Prix Perspective d'un Doc at Visions du Réel in 2010. He is the founder of in utero, a production organisation that promotes the ideas of radical auteur films, open to research and experimentation. He notably co-produced Louise Carrin's Les Papillons Noirs (2013), which was selected at numerous festivals, including Visions du Réel and Les Etats généraux du film documentaire de Lussas.

Tina Janker

Tina Janker was born in 1962. After completing her studies in Media, Italian and Hispanic Literature at the Freie Universität of Berlin, Janker became a publicist for the German theatrical distributor Concorde Film and later worked for the PR agency Just Publicity. Since 1999, she has been advising students of the Documentary Department at the Munich University of Television and Film (HFF) on film festival strategies. She organises and curates film programmes of the HFF student films for international student film festivals and cultural institutions (museums, theatres, universities). From 2010 to 2013, Janker also served as a member of the selection committee, as a moderator and as a catalogue author for DOK.fest, Munich's annual international documentary film festival.

Back to Jury 2016 >

Jury Compétition Internationale moyens et courts métrages 2016


Safia Benhaim

Safia Benhaim est née à Paris, de parents réfugiés politiques communistes marocains. Pendant ses études à l'école nationale supérieure des arts décoratifs de Paris, elle collabore à la revue Vertigo, où elle écrit des articles sur Kyoshi Kurosawa, Philippe Garrel, Marguerite Duras... Elle réalise son premier film, L'Arrière-pays, en 2009, puis La Fièvre, en 2014. Ces deux moyens métrages, entre documentaire politique et conte fantastique, évoquent la façon dont l'expérience de l'exil, en confondant territoire physique et territoire mental, vient hanter la perception du réel. Elle réalise également des installations (L'Atlantide, 2011) et performances mêlant cinéma et musique (Last Things, 2013). L'Arrière-Pays a reçu le Grand Prix du festival Côté court en 2011; La Fièvre, diffusé dans de nombreux festivals internationaux (Entrevues, Belfort; Festival de Jeonju en Corée ; Locarno ; Viennale...), reçoit le Tiger Award short film au Festival International du Film de Rotterdam en 2015. Elle se consacre aujourd'hui à un nouveau film, autour de la chasse – un documentaire vacillant vers l'irréel, où il sera encore question de territoire hanté.

Emmanuel Cuénod

Journaliste de formation, Emmanuel Cuénod a été critique de cinéma durant dix ans pour le quotidien La Tribune de Genève. Il a également co-dirigé la revue professionnelle du cinéma suisse, Cinébulletin et est intervenu régulièrement comme chroniqueur cinéma sur les ondes de La Première et sur la RTS. Directeur général et artistique du Geneva International Film Festival Tous Ecrans depuis 2013, Emmanuel Cuénod a également été producteur au sein de la société de production genevoise Rita Productions. Son projet System Error (y2k) a notamment remporté le Prix Perspective d'un Doc à Visions du Réel en 2010. Il est aussi le fondateur d'in utero, structure de production défendant l'idée d'un cinéma d'auteur radical, ouvert aux recherches et aux expérimentations. Il a notamment co-produit Les Papillons Noirs de Louise Carrin (2013), sélectionné dans de nombreux festivals, dont Visions du Réel et Les Etats généraux du film documentaire de Lussas.

Tina Janker

Tina Janker est née en 1962. Au terme de ses études de journalisme et de littérature italienne et espagnole à la Freie Universität de Berlin, Tina Janker devient publiciste chez le distributeur en salles allemand Concorde Film, et plus tard, pour l'agence RP Just Publicity. Depuis 1999, elle conseille les étudiants du département Documentaire à l'Université de la Télévision et du Cinéma de Munich (HFF) sur les stratégies des festivals de cinéma. Elle organise et dirige la programmation filmique des films d'étudiants de l'HFF pour les festivals internationaux de films d'étudiants et les institutions culturelles (musées, théâtres, universités). De 2010 à 2013, Tina Janker a été membre du comité de sélection du festival international du film documentaire de Munich, DOK.fest, ainsi que modératrice et rédactrice pour le catalogue.

Revenir au Jury 2016 >