Jury Compétition Internationale longs métrages 2016


Antoine Duplan

Born in Lausanne, in 1957. At the same time as his studies in the arts, he worked, as an illustrator and writer, on different alternative reviews (Combat, Non-Violent, Rebrousse-Poil) and specialised reviews (Music Scene). A music critic for the 24 heures daily paper, he became a freelance journalist for L'Hebdo in 1981. Initially responsible for the events pages, he worked as editorial secretary, ran the cultural section, then became assistant editor. A cultural journalist, specialised in film, but keen on comics, music and literature, he joined the editorial team at Le Temps in Geneva in 2011. He was a member of the Zep jury at the Angoulême Festival in 2005 and of the Prix Pathé – Film Critic Prize at the Solothurn Film Festival in 2006.

Abbas Fahdel

Abbas Fahdel is an Iraqi-French film director, screenwriter and film critic, born in Babylon, Iraq. Based in France since the age of 18, he studied cinema at the Sorbonne University where he attended lectures by Eric Rohmer, Jean Rouch and Serge Daney, and obtained his Ph.D. In 2002, he returned to Iraq and made a documentary film, Back to Babylon. In 2008, he directed his first fiction feature film Dawn of the World, shot in Egypt with Hafsia Herzi and Hiam Abbass. In 2015, his new film, Homeland (Iraq Year Zero), a monumental documentary of 334 minutes, won prizes at Visions du Réel (Sesterce d'Or), Locarno (Doc Alliance Selection Award), Yamagata (Jury Prize and Public Prize), DMZ DOCS in South Korea (Great Prize), RIDM Montreal (Great Prize and Public Prize), Carthage (Tanit d'Argent), Ficunam Mexico (Public Prize) and Filmmaker Milano (Second Prize)...

Simone Gattoni

Born in 1984, in Broni (Italy), Simone Gattoni is one of the most important Italian film producers today. After graduating in 2007, he started directing short movies and working as a producer. On the set of Marco Bellocchio's Sorelle Mai, he started his collaboration with the director of Fists in the Pocket. In 2011, worked as an assistant on Pietro Marcello's documentary, Il silenzio di Pelesjan an observational film about Artavazd Peleshian that premiered in Venice. The same year, also directed by Marcello, he worked on Marco Bellocchio, Venezia 2011. Frammenti (2012), produced by Gattoni and directed by Italian master Franco Piavoli, was presented at the Rome International Film Festival. The same year, he helped launch S.B.: Io Lo Conoscevo Bene, the controversial documentary on Silvio Berlusconi directed by Giacomo Durzi and Giovanni Fasanella. In 2015, he produces Sangue del mio sangue, Bellocchio's take on modern day vampires and segregated nuns. Fai bei sogni is the second film of Marco Bellocchio that Gattoni has produced. 

Back to Jury 2016 >

Jury Compétition Internationale longs métrages 2016


Antoine Duplan

Né à Lausanne, en 1957. Parallèlement à des études de Lettres, collabore, comme illustrateur ou rédacteur, à différentes revues alternatives (Combat Non-Violent, Rebrousse-Poil) ou spécialisées (Music Scene). Critique musical au quotidien 24 Heures, il entre comme pigiste à L'Hebdo en 1981. D'abord responsable de l'agenda, il travaille comme secrétaire de rédaction, dirige la rubrique culturelle, avant d'occuper la fonction de rédacteur en chef adjoint. Journaliste culturel, spécialisé dans le cinéma, mais curieux de bande dessinée, de musique et de littérature, il rejoint la rédaction du Temps à Genève en 2011. Membre du jury de Zep au Festival d'Angoulême en 2005 et du Prix Pathé aux Journées de Soleure en 2006.

Abbas Fahdel

Abbas Fahdel est un réalisateur, scénariste et critique de cinéma francoirakien, né à Babylone, en Irak. Installé en France depuis l'âge de 18 ans, il y étudie le cinéma en suivant notamment les cours d'Eric Rohmer, Jean Rouch et Serge Daney, jusqu'à obtenir un doctorat de l'Université Paris 1 Panthéon-Sorbonne. En janvier 2002, il retourne en Irak et y tourne Retour à Babylone. En 2008, il termine son premier long métrage de fiction, L'Aube du monde, tourné en Égypte et interprété par Hafsia Herzi et Hiam Abbass. En 2015, il revient au cinéma documentaire avec le monumental Homeland (Iraq Year Zero), pour lequel il remporte le Sesterce d'Or du meilleur long métrage à Visions du réel, Festival International de Cinéma Nyon, le prix Doc Alliance Selection Award à Locarno, le prix du jury et le prix du public à Yamagata, le grand prix et le prix du public aux Rencontres Internationales du Documentaire de Montréal, le grand prix à DMZ festival (Corée du Sud), le second prix du jury au festival Filmmaker à Milan, le prix du public au festival Ficunam à Mexico, le tanit d'Argent au festival de Carthage...

Simone Gattoni

Né en 1984 à Broni (Italie), Simone Gattoni est un producteur majeur en Italie. En 2007, après son diplôme, il commence à réaliser des courts métrages et à travailler comme producteur. Sur le tournage de Sorelle Mai de Marco Bellocchio, il entame une collaboration avec le réalisateur de Fists in the Pocket. En 2011, il est l'assistant de Pietro Marcello sur son documentaire Il Silenzio di Pelesjan, un film d'observation sur Artavazd Peleshian dont la première eut lieu à Venise. La même année, toujours sous la direction de Marcello, il travaille sur Marco Bellocchio, Venezia 2011. Frammenti (2012), produit par Gattoni et réalisé par le maître italien Franco Pavioli, est présenté au festival international du film de Rome. La même année, il aide à ce que soit réalisé S.B.: Io Lo Conoscevo Bene, documentaire controversé sur Silvio Berlusconi de Giacomo Durzi et Giovanni Fasanella. En 2015, il produit Sangue del mio Sangue, de Bellocchio, film sur des vampires modernes et des nonnes emprisonnées. Fai bei sogni est le deuxième film de Marco Bellocchio que Gattoni a produit.

Revenir au Jury 2016 >